Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I made this the first time and my best friend didn't believe that I cooked this myself. Sheffield John is great I suggest following his blog for extra tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made exactly as recipe directed...AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used thin slice sirloin beef for this recipe. I omitted the oil and when I browned the beef. Didn't add white wine since I didn't have any and couldn't find just plain wine white or sherry, and didn't add chives. Used Chef John's recipe for crème fraiche. I marinated the beef slices over night with Montreal steak seasoning. Instead of cooking it on the stove, I used a slow cooker. Cooked it on low for 5 1/2 hours. There was too much liquid after 4 hours. I made a rue hoping it would thicken. It did a little. Served it over rice instead of noodles. It tasted really good. I would make it again with less 1 cup of beef broth in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
After just one bite of this I wanted to lick my plate clean. This is better than brownies. There's a reason it has an unbelievable 5 star average. MAKE IT. It is amazing. Thanks to the reviewer who explained how easy it is to make creme fraiche. I mixed 1 c. cream with 1Tb. buttermilk and left it on the counter for a day and a half and it turned out gorgeous. I have seen the light and will never go back to my lousy hamburger with sour cream and Worcestershire sauce recipe again. (FYI, I used stew meat and cooked it first in the pressure cooker for extremely tender meat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
It is wrong to say I have a man-crush on Chef John? I am really enjoying the recipes he has listed here! My only "beef" with this recipe is that it lacked the tang I was looking for. I find the creme fraiche just doesn't have the traditional sourness that soured cream brings. It is still a wonderful dish, though. As written, that is why I gave it 4 out of five stars. I made it a second time, and reduced the stock to 1 cup, and used 1.5 cups of soured cream. This was more to my expectations. But again,even as written, this is truly an astounding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome my grandaughter and all my family loved it. They said it's the best I have ever made. My grandaughter wants me to mske it every week and she asked me to double the receipe. Super good. Better than the Betty Crocker I make all the time. And my husband is picky. He liked this one better. I will always use creme fraiche from now on big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Thank you Chef for this recipe! I didn't have time to cook the "normal" way, so, into the crock pot it all went! for 8 hrs on low, YEAH!! Turned out the best I have EVER made, my family loved it, served over wide buttered noodles and homemade biscuits, YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Outstanding. Should have doubled it up - no leftovers :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was wonderful. We love Stroganoff and make it often, and this was the best recipe we've found. I used fat free Greek yogurt in place of the creme fraiche. Chef John's recipes are the best. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have made this twice now. My family LOVES it! I double the sauce recipe because It doesn't quite make enough and because it is just sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Chef John's Beef Rouladen

Discover one of the simplest stuffed meat recipes Chef John knows!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States