Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Amazing! Not only is this very easy to make, it's very good. I usually sub the creme fraiche for sour cream because I always have sour cream on hand. And I'm sure that various cuts of meat would work well. The first time I made this I used cubed, venison tenderloin. It was delicious! I'm so glad that I found a great stroganoff recipe that doesn't use canned ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was a really good lighter version of stroganoff! I made 2 small changes. First I used equal amounts of wine and beef stock (because I like the wine flavor more than stock) and I added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to brighten up the flavor a little bit. If you want some more vegetables to make it even healthier, you could also add some chopped asparagus or frozen peas. I served this over some buttered parsley noodles and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I think my recipe box will now be filled with mostly Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathins

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent...simple, good ingredients and the wine brings out such a pleasant flavor. I have made Chef John's recipe several times and I do use sour cream and a add a half cup of Parmesan cheese at the end. And yes, serve over butter noodles....excellent! Thank you John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is soooo good! Made Chef John's crème fraiche a couple days before and used it - followed recipe as written and it was wonderful! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My husband wanted stroganoff for his birthday dinner and I couldn't just make the condensed soup kind for his birthday. So I found this recipe - SO good! It totally lived up to the 81 (soon to be 82) 5 star ratings that it had! Not too complicated, but it does take an hour of simmering to complete - so make sure you plan accordingly! We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittny Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe reminds me of my grandmas, I love the video it really helped me learn how to get great flavors into this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was gorgeous. But its just missing that final something and I'll be damned if I can figure out what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and served over egg noodles. I loved it! Just keep in mind that it is nothing like the hamburger helper stroganoff you might be use to but it is super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We definitely love this stroganoff. I have used both the chuck roast and other cuts; it turns out great. I added extra broth instead of the wine, and used about a half cup of sour cream in place of the creme fraiche. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States