Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes thus far. I make this now every two weeks and my family can't get enough. I don't change the recipe at all and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this for dinner last night and it was fantastic. even better the next day when I had some for lunch. I did this in my pressure cooker which I cooked the for 30 minutes using stew meet, cut, which i cut into small cube. I had never used creme fraiche, but don't skip. I think this is what makes the meal! Better than using sour cream. I couldn't find it near the cheese or sour creams. It was near the deli, where the imported cheeses were. Thanks Chef Jon for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Miller Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This came out fabulous! Cutting the chuck steak into strips was the hardest part. They browned up beautifully and the sauce was a nice dark rich brown. I used 3 TB flour and it was the perfect consistancy by the end. I tasted for seasoning and it didn't need any addition salt and pepper. I did season the meat quite generously before browning. It did however taste a bit sour so I added about a 1/2 ts. of sugar and that did the trick! The meat was so tender after cooking for about an hour and 15 minutes. No knife needed! My husband raved throughout the entire meal. Served on buttered parmesan egg noodles with cresent rolls on the side. A must try for anyone who loves stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is my favorite meal of all time. So I've tried a LOT of recipes. So far, THIS recipe FAR outshines any I've tried. I tried this recipe every way possible, with creme fraiche, with sour cream (creme fraich WON!), with stew meat, with chuck, (both were same), and then 1 more time with the two changes I wanted to try, that my other "favorite Beef Stroganoff" has. They are as follows... I usually slice my meat on the diagonal, (stew meat is impossible, ask me how I know), and I add garlic salt, paprika and thyme if I have fresh in the garden. (I LOVE thyme, so it's optional) ! AND, I'm shocked that Chef John didn't add cayenne!! LOL! Hope these changes help find that "what's missing?" for those that felt that way. i'd have added a picture of each, except I canNOT figure out how to send a pix from my I-phone 4 to A/R. Hey Chef John, thanks SO much for the terrific recipe & if you need another idea of what to try, I would LOVE your version of Chicken a'la King! and/or bread pudding. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is wonderful! I only made a few minor changes. 1 I used baby bellas, and only 5 to 6 ounces (because most of the family are not big mushroom fans), I accidentally used 2 tablespoons of butter in stead of 1, and added an extra tablespoon of flour because we like the sauces a bit thicker. and I used sour cream cause I didn't have the creme fraiche. I forgot to add the flour to the pan, so I whisked it into the second cup of broth. it worked perfect. This was sooo tasty that I could have eaten the whole thing right then and there. we made quick work of that meal. there is barely one leftover meal. LOL! this was GREAT! definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Better than America's test kitchen's recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was incredible! We used sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
vernell enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe. I thought it had great flavor and will be making this again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
For anyone reading this who is fairly new in the kitchen-- don't think you can get away with cutting the cooking time down just because your sauce has thickened. Cuts of meat like chuck roast have to be cooked low and slow and for quite a long time to melt the collagen in the meat. If the collagen doesn't melt, you will left with extremely tough meat and wonder what happened and then give this recipe a low rating. It took me years to discover this fact about meat. Because I was short on time, I made the kid-friendly, faster version: ground beef and diced mushrooms (to camouflage the mushrooms to look like the ground beef) with sour cream and egg noodles stirred in. Using ground beef was nice because it cut my cooking time down by 75%. Both of my girls (2 & 5) gobbled this up and my picky 5-year old was oblivious to the mushrooms. BTW-- I discovered a good way to dice the mushrooms: I used my egg slicer and just turned the mushroom once after the first slice then turned the mushroom on it's side to cut the length. Big time saver and worked great! Thank you, Chef John, for another amazing recipe! I plan to make the written, grown-up version for my next dinner party. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States