Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I can't believe no one's rated this yet. I've made this a few times and I love it! I buy mushrooms with this in mind. I don't always use exact measurements, but kind of eyeball it. It is soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I'm a vegetarian so I replaced the meat with Gardein Beefless Tips and used a vegetarian beef broth. This was fantastick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My family loved this! I didn't have time to make creme fraiche so I used sour cream. Next time I would like to make it using the creme fraiche. Don't forget to butter your noodles. This is so much better than my recipe using cream of mushroom soup. Highly recommend! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fabulous Recipe.. make as written you cant go wrong. Creme Fraiche seals the deal! Cant wait for company to make it again.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagecreeked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Westbank, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made this and used red wine instead of white. I do not know much about wines and had the red on hand. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Fantastic and very easy. I bought and used the creme fraiche because I wanted to try this just as the Chef wrote it, but I think in the future I will use sour cream. I didn't like the runny consistancy that I got with creme fraiche. The flavor of the dish is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Amazing! Kids loved this. Instead of letting it simmer on the stove, I browned it up & placed in the slowcooker and left for a class. When I got home, I stirred in the creme, turned on the water for the noodles & chopped a salad. Dinner was done in 15 minutes and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Wonderful stroganoff. I used sirloin steak since that's what I had on hand, but a chuck roast would certainly work fine too since it's slow simmered for awhile. It was incredibly tender and the flavor was spot on. I also used red wine instead of white, since that's what I drink, and sour cream instead of creme fraiche. Served over egg noodles and scaled to serve 4 people, which 2 of us gobbled up like we hadn't eaten in years. It was THAT good. The SO said he doesn't like stroganoff but he clearly loved this one. The chives were a nice touch and I enjoy being able to use things out of our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this for dinner last night and it was all gone! Even my picky daughter had 3 servings of it! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a fabulous recipe for Stroganoff. My husband and I ate it for two nights. I love it when I find a new recipe that my hubby actually likes. I will be making this dish again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States