Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We definitely love this stroganoff. I have used both the chuck roast and other cuts; it turns out great. I added extra broth instead of the wine, and used about a half cup of sour cream in place of the creme fraiche. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
It turned out pretty salty, not sure why! I followed the directions almost exactly...I used sour cream instead of creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! Don't forget to make your creme fraiche 2 days before you prepare this dish. The creme fraiche is so easy to make and really tops the dish. I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
The only thing I would suggest to do differently, is to brown the meat in batches. Yes, it's a little more time consuming, but unless you have a really, REAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaally Large skillet, this step as written takes forever to brown, and basically at that point you are steaming your meat, not searing it to get optimum flavor. Other than that, spot on recipe, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I cooked this last night for some friends and they loved it. I will definitely be making it again! The only minor changes I made were to use Sirloin instead of Chuck and I added some Worcestershire Sauce as well as the salt and pepper. I forgot the chives but it was still a great meal. Any negative reviews written about the flavour (or lack thereof) of the dish need to remember to taste the dish before and after adding any seasoning and also taste the dish before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was excellent. My family loved it. I added more mushrooms and had left over gravy and mushrooms which my husband put on mashed potatoes. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this according to the recipe and it was fantastic! Everyone loved it and had seconds. I've read a lot of reviews regarding sour cream vs creme fraiche and having tasted both I can see why he chose creme fraiche. It has a milder taste and adds a nice subtle touch to the dish. We've already added this to our recipe box and will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Have you tried this recipe? What did you think?Chefn - this is quite good. My uncle Vasha taught me how to make authentic Russian stroganoff, using SL;ICED LONG STTRIPS OF SIRLOIN, SLICED VERY THIN GARLIC AND ONIONS, SOME RED WINE, A COUPLE TABLESPOONS OF TOMATO PASTE AND LOTS OF SOUR CREAM. DELICIOUS SERVED OVER THIN SHOESTRING POTATOES OR TOAST POINTS. ALL RUSSIAN STYLE. FABULOUS - JUST MADE SOME 2 DAYS AGO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe. Does need heavy seasoning - even though I seasoned meat extremely well, it still needed additional seasoning at the end. I made a couple of days before so flavors could blend in refrigerator and added creme fraiche before serving - used less creme fraiche than recipe called for; definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe sounded so good. It tasted good but was way too rich for my taste. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States