Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome my grandaughter and all my family loved it. They said it's the best I have ever made. My grandaughter wants me to mske it every week and she asked me to double the receipe. Super good. Better than the Betty Crocker I make all the time. And my husband is picky. He liked this one better. I will always use creme fraiche from now on big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Thank you Chef for this recipe! I didn't have time to cook the "normal" way, so, into the crock pot it all went! for 8 hrs on low, YEAH!! Turned out the best I have EVER made, my family loved it, served over wide buttered noodles and homemade biscuits, YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Outstanding. Should have doubled it up - no leftovers :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was wonderful. We love Stroganoff and make it often, and this was the best recipe we've found. I used fat free Greek yogurt in place of the creme fraiche. Chef John's recipes are the best. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have made this twice now. My family LOVES it! I double the sauce recipe because It doesn't quite make enough and because it is just sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
So my husband and I hate mushrooms. I'd like this to be a story of how we learned to love them, but instead I cooked according to directions and after the meat was done cooking, I changed the plan. I poured everything into a colander and drained off all that wonderful liquid (that had the mushrooms in it), pulled out the hunks of meat and put the meat and liquid back into my dutch oven. Then I proceeded with the sour cream and served it over buttered noodles for me and mashed potatoes for the hubby. It was delicious! So even if you don't like mushrooms, do not be afraid of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious. I made exactly as the recipe called for except I had to substitute sour cream for the creme fraiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was pretty good. I accidentally forgot to buy white wine, so I ended up using white wine vinegar instead. That was the only change I made. It was definitely a mistake, but I did not remove the star for that, since I don't think it's right to rate down a recipe if you've made changes. I did not add any extra liquid, though, and the sauce was a little too runny for my taste. I think I might even have used less liquid. I will try it again with actual white wine, but I suspect it will still be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I cut the recipe in half which was really silly of me, because I’m already craving for more. I was a little hesitant about make it, because the girlfriend is not a big fan of cooked mushrooms. I even had two thumbs-up from her which surprised me. Followed the recipe, it was somewhat time consuming but the trick is to be patient and let that liquid evaporate and let that meat and mushrooms brown nicely, it is totally worth it. I used stored bought crème fraîche. Next time I’ll take the time to make it. I’ll be cooking a full batch next time and then some, trust me. This one is a keeper. Thanks Chef John! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States