Chef John's Chocolate Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I thought it best to grease the pan first of all, so I used wilton cake release spray. DId not want to make the icing as these were to sit on the counter at work for 8 hours so I changed the recipe slightly by using mint extract in place of the vanilla. Topped off with a little green powdered sugar. Anything mint works a treat for me! I just love both the basic taste and the texture of this brownie, now that I have this recipe I plan on swopping out the extract to make a variety of different flavors. Planning on trying with orange extract next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Loved it! I accidentally added less milk so the icing wasn't runny, but I liked it that way because it gave a bit of a hard, crispy texture. I took out the brownie upside-down and put the icing on the bottom rather than on the top, seemed much easier to spread since the bottom of the brownie was perfectly smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aktifistri
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe made my night!! Just got back from a potluck Christmas dinner at our friends place. After browsing some recipes and tips on making brownies, I decided to make a chewy one instead of another type. I wanted to do my first attempt with a very simple recipe, and I opted this one. Turned out my it was successful. They love it! Some of them wanted to learn how to make it. One of them said that's her first best brownies in town (we live in China)! A compliment and thank to Chef John! :D I accidentally use 2/3 instead of 3/4 cocoa, but like Chef John said, the quality of cocoa is very important to the result - I use brand Fry's from Canada (thanks to my lovely mom-in-law), don't know if that's the best over there but it works great! Didn't have 8x8" baking pan so I used silicone meatloaf pan, and it cooked well evenly - no uncooked part in the middle. I grease the pan with melted butter and didn't have prob at all when taking the brownies out of the pan. Since I use a small convection oven, I set the heat for 150 Celcius instead of 175, so it wasn't over-burnt, but instead of 35 mins it took 45 mins to cook - until the toothpick comes out clean. I'll definitely make it again, my husband loves it! It was finished too quick until I didn't even have a chance to take a picture, next time I'll post it here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Chocolaty, dense and super moist. To make sure to get them moist do not bake by time. Set your timer 5 minutes less than recommended and check with a toothpick or bamboo skewer. Continue checking every minute or so until there is barely any batter on them. remove for oven immediately. They will continue to cook a little on the cooling rack. Meaning if they are perfect or cooked in the oven they will be over cooked when cooled. In this case not a moist brownie at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I love the brownie without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I suck at cooking and baking, but I NEEDED chocolate one night. I made these, minus the mint, and omg, I didn't burn them, they tasted like brownies, and they were soooooo good!!! I may make them again for Superbowl parties I'm going to :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasnell76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Amazing!! I did make a few changes, though. I didn't want to make the frosting, so I put the mint extract directly into the brownie batter instead. I also added 2/3 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe says to use an ungreased pan, but I didn't want to risk that they'd stick, so I greased it anyway. They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Simple, fudgey, thick, dense, chocolatey, delectable and delicious!! My new go to for brownies! I made my icing a little thicker and tinted it green for St.Pattys day, then melted some chocolate and shortening in a double boiler and drizzled on top! Everyone loved them! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I finally found a more fudgy brownie like have been wanting!! I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13in. pan sprayed with baking spray, I added an extra rounded tbs. cocoa and doubled the vanilla because all I had was imitation. Sometimes I add a little coffee extract. Very good...fudgy but not too gooey, which I don't like. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is now my go to brownie recipe, its easy and really fudgey and good. I tend to mix up the icing flavors every once in a while, instead of mint extract I have used whisky, lemon and most recently a mint flavoured ganache frosting. Extremely versatile and always a hit. Per usual I substitute the butter for canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States