Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lilactime
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is so easy and so impressive. I used ghirardelli intense dark Cabernet chocolate. Truly decadent! I used my stand mixer to beat the eggs and sugar then mixed everything else by hand. My batter was not thick at all so I did not use a pastry bag. I baked them for 18 minutes and they were perfect. I plan on making these for company soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Ahh, delicious perfection! These turned out so rich and light on the outside and all gooey chocolate goodness on the inside! I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made them and they were awesome! The second time, I did add a bit more vanilla extract and liked that even better. I have even made these using almond extract for another taste delight. Thanks Chef John for giving us a little bit of chocolaty heaven in a ramekin! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Absolutely amazing! They're so delicious my daughter insisted to add milk in the ramekin so not to waste any single bit of the cake. My husband asked why the cake was so small. LOL... To avoid the center not being runny like some reviewers had experienced, I took the advice to place a piece of chocolate in center of the batter before baking. There are 8 squares of chocolate in a bar. I simply save 2 squares from the bar of chocolate, break each square in half and put in each ramekin. Which means I only melt 6 squares with the butter. The cakes turn out moist and the center is runny. So easy to make and fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyphantomhive
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Totally awesome recipe for a first time chocolate lava cake baker. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This didn't rise at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommafourtimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made this with coconut oil instead of butter. It came out delicious. I also used one Tbsp of sugar instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
So easy, yet SO delicious. I made the batter the day before a dinner party, put it in the ramekins and just refrigerated the whole kit and caboodle until dishes were being cleared and coffee was being made at dinner the next night. Took it right from the fridge, put it in the oven and out came an amazing, chocolatey decadence. Oohs and ahhhs from all. It was a a TOTAL success and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States