Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by itachandra
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I had a similar old recipe which I love, but then I tried to follow this recipe, just change a little bit of the way to melt the chocolate (I melted it on a steamer, beware of the condensation, and just melted it halfway then continue mix the mixture with spoon until completely melted, so it will not be lumpy). I served it in the ramekins, because the top of my cake was cracked, so I thought it will look cool just like that. And I served it with vanilla ice cream, perfect!! If you love chocolate then you'll love this recipe, I for sure will make it again and again. Picture uploaded :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itachandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Followed the recipe to the dot. Crunchy exterior until you hit the center---dark molten choco delight!!! This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. Just a little note. If you are not as strong as John you should definitely use a hand mixer. So that you get the right consistency with your eggs and sugar mix. Mine came out a little flat but I believe that it was because of the consistency of my egg and sugar mixture. It still came out great! Thank you very much John! This turned out to be a great ending to our mother's day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITSWONDERCHICK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Outstanding! I made it and I've never made anything as exotic before and it turned out incredible! Thanks for the detailed instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight for dinner. It was fantastic, just like you would get a restaurant. I made 4 of them. My hubby ate 2 right away! Was very easy, though I didn't use the ziplock bag method. I didn't have dark baking chocolate at hand, so I tried it with milk chocolate, it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
followed the recipe and the outcome was divine.. thanks for sharing this amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Rich, delicious flavor and so simple. Oh the joy of a good bite of chocolate. Followed recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I hate leaving bad reviews, but this just didn't work. I went over the recipe last night 20+ times. I did everything as stated. The batter was so thick, and came out like a brownie. I even took them out at 14 minutes, just because I like things a little under done when it comes to cakes, and cookies. They were still hard, no liquid center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Fantastic! Not too sweet, and not too rich, just right! Make sure to grease the ramekins well, but otherwise, worked out quite well! Highly recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
oh wow!!!! This is unbelievable! My daughter and I were watching MasterChef and they made a chocolate lava cake. I had to make it, so I went to my favorite website! This recipe was so simple and quick. I was amazed. I melted 4 oz of tollhouse chocolate chips with the butter because that was all I had. It tated like the ones I've gotten at a restaurant! My batter was not thick and I'm sure it is because I used my KitchenAid mixer and didn't attempt to mix it by hand. I did not put it in a bag (i just didn't see the point), I did not refrigerate and I didn't cook it in a pan of water. They did none of that on MasterChef :). Why make more work for yourself. Everyone's oven is different, but I cooked them for 11 min. Next time, I will cook it 1 min more. I will definitely be serving this when I have company over for dinner and to make it easier, I will refrigerate the batter so that all I have to do is pop it in the oven when we are finished eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States