Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
After 3 attempts, I almost got it right. For some reason this simple recipe has proved quite difficult for me. Still, it is the best tasting molten cake recipe so I keep at it. On the fourth attempt I will bake it a little longer and top it with sugared berries to cut through the richness of the dark chocolate. These last little tweaks should make it just right. Oh a little secret, to make the center flow like lava, I push a 1/2 oz of chocolate (or however much you prefer) down into the batter. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was my first time making this cake, and i followed all of the instructions, but it didn't turn out!!! It was very dense, rubbery, and there wasn't liquid on the inside like we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
So yummy and so easy. People will think you are brilliant...seems very fancy!! I served it with ice cream and fresh raspberries to cut the richness. I listened to NW Hairgal and watched for the cake to pull away from the sides of the dish...it was perfect...thanks for the tip!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night for my mom's birthday and it was a great hit.... My boyfriend said the 5.5oz was not big enough so he purchased me the 7oz ramekins and I doubled the recipe and cooked it for the same amount of time is was sooooooo good. My boyfriend told me I could make it for him any time I wanted :-) thank you Chef for posting the recipe I for sure will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menoken, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It was delicious, just wish it was a little more lava-y. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was very yummy but it wasn't quite what I was looking for. This turned out more like a baked chocolate pudding. I wanted the middle to ooze out not just be gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Yummy. This was delicious and very easy. My boyfriend loved it and was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This didn't rise at all and it didn't have a gooey center. The texture was rather rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I have made this and rechecked everything twice but the center wasn't gooey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe worked great. Remember to taste the mixture. If too sweet or to bitter it will be the same once baked. Also use unsalted butter not salted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States