Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband for Father's Day. At 15 minutes, the batter was still runny, which is unusual for my oven. I ended up baking the cakes for another 10 minutes. The cake was wonderful! Nice crumb on the outside and rich, gooey chocolate on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I tired this recipe for a Father's day treat. Instead of baking at 425, I lowered the temp to 415 (my oven is a little hot for most recipes) and left it in for only 13 minutes and it was too overdone. It was slightly gooey inside but not at all what I was hoping for/expecting; did not match the picture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T and the cakes came out dense, didn't rise, and had no liquid center. It tasted like a fluffy, dark, rich brownie. It was okay with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
LOOOOOOOOved it! Just like the lava cakes at Animal Kingdom Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Wouldn't waste my time with this again. Doesn't taste any better than the box kind, takes more work, wastes food (what do you do with the 2 leftover whites?), instructions are screwy and incomplete (step 1 puts the ramekins in a casserole dish and step 12 puts them in again). Instructions don't say what temp to melt butter & chocolate (only in video). You don't need to make the mess of putting batter into baggie, less trouble to just spoon it into ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
After 3 attempts, I almost got it right. For some reason this simple recipe has proved quite difficult for me. Still, it is the best tasting molten cake recipe so I keep at it. On the fourth attempt I will bake it a little longer and top it with sugared berries to cut through the richness of the dark chocolate. These last little tweaks should make it just right. Oh a little secret, to make the center flow like lava, I push a 1/2 oz of chocolate (or however much you prefer) down into the batter. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was my first time making this cake, and i followed all of the instructions, but it didn't turn out!!! It was very dense, rubbery, and there wasn't liquid on the inside like we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
So yummy and so easy. People will think you are brilliant...seems very fancy!! I served it with ice cream and fresh raspberries to cut the richness. I listened to NW Hairgal and watched for the cake to pull away from the sides of the dish...it was perfect...thanks for the tip!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night for my mom's birthday and it was a great hit.... My boyfriend said the 5.5oz was not big enough so he purchased me the 7oz ramekins and I doubled the recipe and cooked it for the same amount of time is was sooooooo good. My boyfriend told me I could make it for him any time I wanted :-) thank you Chef for posting the recipe I for sure will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menoken, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States