Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a super easy and tasty recipe. The end product will be as good as the quality of the chocolate you use, so be sure to use a high quality baking chocolate. I don't recommend the water bath as it caused my cakes to bake unevenly (slightly ironic considering the wonders they do for cheesecakes). My first batch, the top half of the cake looked done when the bottom half was still completely runny. If I had baked them for any longer, the top would have been overcooked. The second batch I didn't use the water bath and they came out perfect, no problems releasing the cakes from the ramekins. Even after keeping in the fridge for 2 days, I found that the best time/temperature combo for my oven was 350F for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe/video exactly and it turned out perfectly. My stove tends to bake hot, so I cooked 16 minutes on the nose. I used heart shaped ramekins and served with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. People were licking their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made a half recipe of this for my husband & I for our Valentine's dessert. We really liked it. I did end up leaving it in the fridge for about 2 hours before I baked it. But it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the directions as stated. It tasted great but didn't have the lava like consistency I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Decadent chocolate heaven in your mouth! lol soooo good me and the hubbs couldn't even finish one by ourselves it was so rich! But that's a good thing! Will definitely make this again and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leelee85
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe was amazing & I loved the video. I feel it really helped me get the consistency right (Especially with the egg mixture. Chef John, I do NOT have your arm strength. . . My hubby helped out though!) This was by far the best dessert I have ever made! I did put them into only two bigger rammekins so I had to add approx 10 more minutes to the bake time, but it was well worth the extra wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
2nd attempt. Zero lava. Still really good flavor, but they did seem more like a brownie. I baked this batch for about 22 minutes. It's just really hard to see when they are done. The edges were bubbly. Don't know if it was the butter or if the boiling water (from the bath), but I was trying to wait for those bubbles to disappear. Frustrated, I googled other recipes for lava cakes. Ingredients are all very similar to this recipe. But no water bath. No refrigerating before baking. In fact,the ones that offered you can refrigerate and bake the next day say to bring them to room temperature before baking. So, I am going to try again without the bath and without refrigerating before-hand. 1st attempt. The flavors were very good! I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate disks and Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa. The only problem is it was underbaked. I had them in the oven for 19 minutes. The bottoms were all liquid. I will make them again (they're easy enough) and bake them 22 to 25 minutes and see what happens. But the guys still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Zagaja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sasi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Turned out great perfect looking cake ever. Made it in my small electric oven took About 25 monuted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Little disappointed. The batter didn't seem to rise as it baked. At 15min, the sides didn't seem to be set so I baked for another 5. Came out like a brownie. My ramekins were a bit bigger so may double recipe next time or use only two ramekins instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
No flavor, no molten lava, no thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States