Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
So easy, yet SO delicious. I made the batter the day before a dinner party, put it in the ramekins and just refrigerated the whole kit and caboodle until dishes were being cleared and coffee was being made at dinner the next night. Took it right from the fridge, put it in the oven and out came an amazing, chocolatey decadence. Oohs and ahhhs from all. It was a a TOTAL success and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
It took a long time to rise, so by the time it did, the center was baked and no longer liquid. It has a rich flavor and our family liked it as a cake, just did not get to experience the lava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessab
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The recipe was super easy to follow. This cake was exactly what I was looking for. One caution, bake for the 15 minutes the recipe says. I overboard my first batch by about 5 minutes. It was still very tasty. Second batch baked for the 15 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yolanda Lau
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great recipe overall! At first I tried it exactly to the instructions and it actually didnt work well for me. The next time I tried it I made a few alterations: i used 400 degree oven, no water bath, and did not refrigerate. Turned out great. only cooked for 14 minutes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Lau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I am so sorry to say only one star. I was so excited about this dessert! I followed the directions and the cakes came out flat not to mention they were not sweet enough. We ate them with ice cream and when we were done both my husband and I had eaten all the ice cream around the lava cake and left the cake. It was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Tasted great, I over-cooked it, so it wasn't really a lava cake but it was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Harper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, New York, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
the lava cake was not crunchy on the outside, not sweet enough, and didn't flow like a normal lava cake should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
the best thing I have ever made :) My nephew loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwithcoco
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. My tip is to now over mix the mixture. There will be weird air bubbles. Definitely a recipe to keep. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
OH MY GOSH!!!!! THESE ARE THE BEST THINGS I HAVE EVER PUT IN MY BODY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States