Chef John's Chili Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angelwith9mm
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This recipe was very unique! When I first made them and the cookies were warm I was not too impressed, but after they cooled off and the next day YUM!! They were amazing! I think next time I make them I will try adding another 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper per recipe. I made a double batch and that was a good amount to bring into work and to keep some home, so if you plan to bake them to share I would recommend a double batch. I also did not have regular Kahlua and only had Spiced Cinnamon Kahlua and it worked out great. I will be keeping this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome cookie! Very rich and decadent with complex flavor. I made a few changes- used cranberries instead of currants, 2 tbsp very strong coffee instead of kahlua, halved the black pepper, doubled the cinnamon and used 3/4 tsp freshly ground dried chilis instead of cayenne. I also topped each cookie with a small chunk of candied chili pepper before baking. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andersen
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMG - These cookies are WONDERFUL! I've pinned them on Pinterest, posted them on Facebook and am giving out batches in my annual cookie offerings. I've rated them "PG-13" because small humans may not appreciate the way these wonderful cookies bite back, but I promise it's just a little nip - just enough to let you know there's some pepper in there somewhere. I followed the recipe exactly and they all came out perfectly. The hardest part was making them uniform in size and shape, but I was more than happy to eat the "misshapen" cookies ... I'll be make another batch before the 2012 holiday season is over! YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The cookies are fabulous. Not inexpensive, but fabulous. I don't substitute ingredients in a recipe, so what you see is what you get. Did I say fabulous? Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent recipe. A crowd pleaser. Currants are hard to find in our area, so I used dried cranberries which add a little hint of tartness to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Yum! My only deviation from the recipe was cookie size, ending up with 3 dozen, baked for 10 minutes. They came out perfect. We all loved the bit of bite the pepper gave. It wasn't too strong, but you knew there was something special going on. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
The cookies came out fudgey, soft, and delicious. They were about the texture of a brownie and the chocolate chips and currants were nice. After taking a bite, it takes a second for the subtle spicy flavor to kick in, it's a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Awesome cookies! I like to try my best and make the recipes the first time exactly like they are written but I had a hard time finding dark chocolate chips. I substituted the left over 2 ozs of bittersweet chocolate from the 4oz bar, chopping it into 1/2 inch pieces. I used good chocolate, fresh ground black pepper and opened a new jar of cayenne. I baked them on parchment at 350 for 12 minutes, cooled on the pan for 5 minutes and transferred to the rack. I had a "warm" cookie and one that had set a couple of hours. I preferred the one which sat as the flavor was much better. Oh and it was so good with a cup of espresso. Thank you so much for the recipe! BTW this is my first review after trying many, many recipes. They were that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
A friend brought these into the office and they were absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to try making them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Huge hit with everyone who didn't specifically say they hate spicy food. A few very sensitive souls said they didn't like the heat, but everyone else loved them. Such a great combination of flavors. I didn't find "dark chocolate chips" but semi-sweet worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States