Chef John's Chili Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Awesome cookies! I like to try my best and make the recipes the first time exactly like they are written but I had a hard time finding dark chocolate chips. I substituted the left over 2 ozs of bittersweet chocolate from the 4oz bar, chopping it into 1/2 inch pieces. I used good chocolate, fresh ground black pepper and opened a new jar of cayenne. I baked them on parchment at 350 for 12 minutes, cooled on the pan for 5 minutes and transferred to the rack. I had a "warm" cookie and one that had set a couple of hours. I preferred the one which sat as the flavor was much better. Oh and it was so good with a cup of espresso. Thank you so much for the recipe! BTW this is my first review after trying many, many recipes. They were that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made this recipe just as Chef John said to, right down to the grinding of the black pepper. But it was that pepper that made me rate this a 4 rather than a 5. We thought 1/2 teaspoon of the black pepper was just a little too much, and for that ingredient in a cookie, that is more important than if this were a main dish of some sort. I would suggest trying only 1/4 teaspoon. I loved how the cookies retained their shape and how wonderfully chocolatey they are. I baked them on parchment for 11 minutes and that was perfect---just a little underdone in the middle. It was hard to find the currants, but Sprouts had them! I got about 30 cookies with a 2-tablespoon scoop. I'll definitely make these again with my adjustment. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was fascinated by this combination even though I have tried other similar recipes. I followed this exactly, except for omitting the currants in one half. For my taste, I found the amount of cayenne pepper too overpowering against the very strong taste of the chocolate. I also preferred the batch without the currants. The video presentation was most helpful, but I wished I had watched it first because I beat the eggs and sugar until thick and it made the cookies too puffy. In the video version,chef John just blended everything with a whisk. Further, the currant mixture as well as the chocolate can both be done in the microwave, making this a very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent recipe. A crowd pleaser. Currants are hard to find in our area, so I used dried cranberries which add a little hint of tartness to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome cookie! Very rich and decadent with complex flavor. I made a few changes- used cranberries instead of currants, 2 tbsp very strong coffee instead of kahlua, halved the black pepper, doubled the cinnamon and used 3/4 tsp freshly ground dried chilis instead of cayenne. I also topped each cookie with a small chunk of candied chili pepper before baking. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andersen
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The cookies are fabulous. Not inexpensive, but fabulous. I don't substitute ingredients in a recipe, so what you see is what you get. Did I say fabulous? Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMG - These cookies are WONDERFUL! I've pinned them on Pinterest, posted them on Facebook and am giving out batches in my annual cookie offerings. I've rated them "PG-13" because small humans may not appreciate the way these wonderful cookies bite back, but I promise it's just a little nip - just enough to let you know there's some pepper in there somewhere. I followed the recipe exactly and they all came out perfectly. The hardest part was making them uniform in size and shape, but I was more than happy to eat the "misshapen" cookies ... I'll be make another batch before the 2012 holiday season is over! YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Now THIS is chocolaty ! Loved the "2 steps" expansion of the taste in mouth : 1st the chocolate and when you think it's all over then the pepper araises to tickle your senses - actually a kind of sexy cookies indeed ! ;-) Skipped the coffee flavour when making them again and liked them even better (that's why only 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Made these and expected "cloud-nine"..but I think mine were too dry, could be that my oven is hotter, I'll drop the baking time by 2 minutes and i think I'll love them more. The flavour of the pepper with the sweet currants was so nice though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Patrick's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I tried using Splenda this time and they didn't turn out as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States