Chef John's Chili Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! I've made it a few times for parties or holidays and each time it has been a hit. I usually substitute Craisins for the currants. It's also perfect because usually the children don't like the cookies while all of the adults do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've prepared recipes similar to this without the black pepper and really enjoyed the wonderful interplay of the red chile powder and the chocolate; but adding the black pepper really ups the complexity of this cookie, making it extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
DECADENT. If you love dark chocolate, these are for you. The only chocolate I used was a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (11.5 oz, divided). It worked out superbly, in my opinion. (I didn't have a stainless steel bowl so I melted, slowly, in a glass bowl in the microwave.) I didn't have currants so I used dried cranberries, and I didn't have Kahlua so I made a small batch of homemade; it wasn't authentic, but it was DELICIOUS, and boy did it enhance these cookies. (I had a little rum I'd bought for Chef John's pineapple upside cake, and Wikipedia says Kahlua is made with rum not vodka.) The pepper gives you a little surprise only after you've had a few bites. I recommend eating these the next day--after you've given your mouth time to recover from licking the bowl! (Or maybe resist licking the bowl.) I'm sending these to my daughter at college who loves chocolate chili candy bars. PS. The recipe is on this site twice. The other one says to whisk the eggs and sugar in a separate large bowl. This one says to use a small bowl. USE THE LARGE BOWL. The other one also says to use room temperature eggs. I did that. No idea if it matters. (Now I'm off to make more recipes with that homemade Kahlua!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Now THIS is chocolaty ! Loved the "2 steps" expansion of the taste in mouth : 1st the chocolate and when you think it's all over then the pepper araises to tickle your senses - actually a kind of sexy cookies indeed ! ;-) Skipped the coffee flavour when making them again and liked them even better (that's why only 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Made these and expected "cloud-nine"..but I think mine were too dry, could be that my oven is hotter, I'll drop the baking time by 2 minutes and i think I'll love them more. The flavour of the pepper with the sweet currants was so nice though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Patrick's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I tried using Splenda this time and they didn't turn out as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Photo by Angelwith9mm
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This recipe was very unique! When I first made them and the cookies were warm I was not too impressed, but after they cooled off and the next day YUM!! They were amazing! I think next time I make them I will try adding another 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper per recipe. I made a double batch and that was a good amount to bring into work and to keep some home, so if you plan to bake them to share I would recommend a double batch. I also did not have regular Kahlua and only had Spiced Cinnamon Kahlua and it worked out great. I will be keeping this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome cookie! Very rich and decadent with complex flavor. I made a few changes- used cranberries instead of currants, 2 tbsp very strong coffee instead of kahlua, halved the black pepper, doubled the cinnamon and used 3/4 tsp freshly ground dried chilis instead of cayenne. I also topped each cookie with a small chunk of candied chili pepper before baking. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andersen
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I tried this recipe but without the Kahlua because I can't take alcohol. The recipe was good but it was too much chocolate for my taste. I would add 1 cup walnuts instead of more chocolate chips. Other than that, I thought it was really good. I love the pepper and the cayene pepper in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Sim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States