Chef John's Chicken Riggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have never made a bad recipe from Chef John but this one is insanely good! I used more italian sausage and less chicken but only because thats what I had. My husband raved about this dish. I will be making it regularly. If you haven't been to Chef Johns blog Foodwishes go there and watch hm make this recipe, I have been cooking for 30 years and still I find his videos helpful! Thanks again Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peacefulone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Fantastic Recipe. I slightly changed it b/c I don't like mushrooms or olives, so I added a jalapeno & half a red & green bell pepper. Extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This has been Chef John's recipes at our house this week and I haven't had one fail me yet and this one was outstanding. I usually like sauce to be sitting on my pasta and this sauce was thin but omg, the flavor was unbelievable!! I had to leave out the kalamata olives because I had none, but followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
We had guests for dinner tonight and this was a BIG hit! I used chicken drumettes, lightly browning them before adding to the mixture, also used about 8 oz of hot Italian sausage. I didn't have heavy whipping cream so used half and half. 'This recipe is full of flavor and I have plenty of leftovers, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Chef John does it again. Awesome dish. Family loved it. I made it as written and used some of my peppers/chilis in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I RARELY give a 5 star rating. I'm not a picky person but to me 5 star signifies top restaurant quality, and THIS dish does that. I was searching for a chicken based pasta dish that was not the norm, this fit the bill and will become a regular dish in my house. I followed the recipe pretty close except doubled the meat. I used pepperoncinis and sweet yellow bell peppers (on-hand). Asiago and Romano cheeses. Marsala can make some dishes a little too sweet for my blood so I used Merlot. It came out GREAT. It was my 1st Chef John but wont be my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe! I made this for some friends that came over and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a very forgiving recipe. It can easily be tweaked to add or remove ingredients to your taste. I use sweet basil/cheese sausage. My husband doesn't care for olives, so I leave them out and throw some in my bowl if I'm in the mood. I use peppers if I have them on hand, otherwise it's fine without them. I usually have jarred hot pepper rings that I throw in for flavor. I've used both boneless thighs and boneless breasts. Both work fine, but I liked the thighs a little better. I serve this with crusty italian bread and a salad. The leftovers are even better the next day. We always bring them for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I am from Central NY (Syracuse, specifically) and Chicken Riggies is something my family makes every time I am home, because as Chef John says, you don't see this on a menu anywhere else. This recipe is awesome and I will continue to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Winner winner chicken riggies dinner! I followed the recipe precisely. Used red, yellow and orange peppers, along with a half of jalapeno that I had to use up. We enjoyed this. Watch the amount of salt that you add, as the kalamata olives are quite salty. This is one for the recipe box! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States