Chef John's Chicken Riggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing. Family loved it, I omitted the olives but other than that I followed the rest of the recipe and directions. Chef John needs a show on foodnetwork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Wow, easy to make! I used everything on the recipe and it turned out great! Vary the heat from hot peppers to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Great dish, but need nutritional information
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Made this last night and all I can say is "wow!" I followed the recipe exactly even to measuring the liquids. I used one yellow chili, one red jalapeno and some fire-roasted red pepper. I seeded all of the peppers so that we got the flavor without all the heat. This was fantastic. However the next time I'm going to use less pasta so that there is more meat versus pasta. This is a keeper. Thanks to Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Saw this dish when I was in CNY but where I was there was only 1 good cafe in town. I wish I would have tried it there....it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It is the best meal I have ever made. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very good overall with excellent flavor. We followed the recipe as written since we’ve not eaten chicken riggies before and wanted to taste something resembling the local version (an image search using a search engine shows numerous versions based on ‘tweaks’ by different cooks). Used red, yellow and orange sweet peppers, along with 2 jalapenos. The creamy tomato sauce was spicy with moderate heat for our tastes. The sauce seemed to be about the right consistency in step 2 when it called for adding water if needed. The water was not added to avoid a runny sauce (btw, the video version is correct but the AR edited written version is in error by saying to add water to thicken the sauce as it will thin it). After adding the pasta in the final step, what liquid existed in the sauce was quickly absorbed. Next time, I would add 1-1/2 cups chicken broth and not be concerned about the sauce looking runny in step 2. This is another excellent recipe by Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by shirleyandJ
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
absolutely love this! the sausage did add lots flavor into chicken,but I haven't tried to add olive, wonder if the flavor will be different. cant wait to make it again with olive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shirleyandJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Really good, and the leftovers were excellent too. Chef John tends to season a little hotter than my family likes, but easy enough to add a little less hot peppers and I also used mild italian sausage. Will make again. I didn't have any olives, but I think they would have made a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is very good. It’s not a quick recipe, but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States