Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I will usually never try a recipe unless there are pages of reviews but I was in the mood for this dish so I decided to go for it. I was NOT disappointed! The only thing I will change next time is to spice it up A bit. Maybe season the chicken with some adobo before browning and add a bit more salt and pepper to the sauce. It wasn't bland but It was "mild". If you are like me and need tons of flavor then add some extra spices otherwise the dish is delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
excellent and really easy i only like breast so i used breasts halved and i have made variations in this dish added some cherry tomatoes , to nights has carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very good! Used my homemade sauce. I always make a big batch & freeze it in 2 cup batches so I'm always ready when I get the urge to cook. I too spiced it up a little more. Had 2 zucchini that were just about ready for zucchini heaven so I threw them in too slced of course. I have a new electric pressure cooker so next time I'll make this in my P.C. and let you all know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Fantastic! My only variations are to use 8 large chicken thighs (skin on to reduce prep and cleanup time), substitute a dry red wine for the water, and use 1 ¼ cup of Barilla Marinara for the tomato sauce. NOTE: after browning all the thighs, it’s a good idea to drain most of the fat before proceeding. I serve over buttered wide egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very pleased with this recipe. I had thighs and drumsticks, skipped the oregano and used seasoned salt. I also added zucchini as another reviewer suggested. I used chicken broth instead of water.I cooked in my cassoulet and it came out great. We had with some fluffily rice. I have made this three times now. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Pretty much followed the recipe as is. The only difference was that I seasoned the chicken with Italian seasoning before browning and doubled the tomato sauce. Other than that, this came out so yummy and it was so quick and easy to do! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Chef John! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Fabulous! Even a beginner can master this recipe. I too used a jar of spaghetti sauce instead of the can of tomato sauce. My husband was out mowing when I started this dish the first time. When he walked in, he was overwhelmed by the delicious smell. I made this with chicken breasts and we had 2 leftover for the next day. He couldn't wait and had one for a midnight snack. Chef John should be commended for this recipe. Just wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gibson City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Really good recipe. The only thing I changed was the amount of tomato sauce- i used 2 cans (14.5 oz each) instead of 1 cup. Also, I subsituted red wine for the water and simmered it on the stove top for about 3 hours. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this as written except I used chicken thighs. In the video, I thought he said to keep all the chicken run-off after browning. I wish I would have stuck with my mind and drained it. The meal was so greasy I couldn't taste anything else. If you make this with thighs, PLEASE drain it before putting everything else in. It was a waste of food in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had been craving chicken cacciatore and had never made it myself. All my memories of this dish were from when my mom used to make it when I was a kid. So I found this recipe and decided to give it a try...it was delicious! And better than my memories! I made two changes... 1. I deglazed the pan using 1/2 cup white wine after I cooked the onions, mushrooms, garlic and spices.(instead of the water) 2. Then I added one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (instead of the tomato sauce) The end result was tender, juicy, chicken that falls off the bone, in a rich and flavorful sauce that goes perfect over pasta. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States