Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good, a little too spicy for me, I cut back on the red pepper and added more sauce and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I do this recipe over and over. I server it over Arborio rice. I don't use a whole chicken. I just buy a package of chicken thighs that I remove much of the skin from to reduce the amount of fat. I substitute Italian seasoning for rosemary and tomato paste for tomato sauce because it gives a lot more flavor. It turns out great every time and it really good the next day for lunch leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicholasNAthens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was great! Made a few changes-I didn't have any mushrroms so I added a chopped carrot and some celery. I also added a little red wine with the water. Used 6 large bone-in breasts. Will prepare this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had been craving chicken cacciatore and had never made it myself. All my memories of this dish were from when my mom used to make it when I was a kid. So I found this recipe and decided to give it a try...it was delicious! And better than my memories! I made two changes... 1. I deglazed the pan using 1/2 cup white wine after I cooked the onions, mushrooms, garlic and spices.(instead of the water) 2. Then I added one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (instead of the tomato sauce) The end result was tender, juicy, chicken that falls off the bone, in a rich and flavorful sauce that goes perfect over pasta. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Everything was great until I put it in the oven then the sauce got thin!! i was so disappointed! Going to make it into a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this exactly but without mushrooms since I didn't have them on hand. We loved it! Also, we used only chicken legs since that is all I had on hand. Go ahead and try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Mmmmm good I made a few changes based on what others wrote. I used chicken broth instead of water. I also used one small can of tomato sauce and one can of crushed tomatoes. I added one tsp of dried basil, two bay leaves, and used one tsp of dried rosemary because I didn't have fresh on hand. I cut the bell peppers back to one each and added black olives. Served over brown rice and topped with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It's easy to prepare and taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious and very easy to make. Served it with spaghetti noodles. Was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Had a hankerin' for some cacciatore tonight. I quartered a large chicken; splashed in a little white cooking wine early in the process and substituted chicken broth for water. This has that classic cacciatore flavor I was craving; delicious over angel hair with parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States