Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe as is. Served over fettuccine. The red pepper flakes gave it just the right amount of kick. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Absolutely beyond fabulous. Followed recipe exactly! Do not change a thing! After 6 years of cooking, my hubby said this is the BEST dish I have EVER made! Thank you Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good, a little too spicy for me, I cut back on the red pepper and added more sauce and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I do this recipe over and over. I server it over Arborio rice. I don't use a whole chicken. I just buy a package of chicken thighs that I remove much of the skin from to reduce the amount of fat. I substitute Italian seasoning for rosemary and tomato paste for tomato sauce because it gives a lot more flavor. It turns out great every time and it really good the next day for lunch leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was great! Made a few changes-I didn't have any mushrroms so I added a chopped carrot and some celery. I also added a little red wine with the water. Used 6 large bone-in breasts. Will prepare this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had been craving chicken cacciatore and had never made it myself. All my memories of this dish were from when my mom used to make it when I was a kid. So I found this recipe and decided to give it a try...it was delicious! And better than my memories! I made two changes... 1. I deglazed the pan using 1/2 cup white wine after I cooked the onions, mushrooms, garlic and spices.(instead of the water) 2. Then I added one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (instead of the tomato sauce) The end result was tender, juicy, chicken that falls off the bone, in a rich and flavorful sauce that goes perfect over pasta. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Everything was great until I put it in the oven then the sauce got thin!! i was so disappointed! Going to make it into a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this exactly but without mushrooms since I didn't have them on hand. We loved it! Also, we used only chicken legs since that is all I had on hand. Go ahead and try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Mmmmm good I made a few changes based on what others wrote. I used chicken broth instead of water. I also used one small can of tomato sauce and one can of crushed tomatoes. I added one tsp of dried basil, two bay leaves, and used one tsp of dried rosemary because I didn't have fresh on hand. I cut the bell peppers back to one each and added black olives. Served over brown rice and topped with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It's easy to prepare and taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States