Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This recipe turned out amazing and I cooked it in my crockpot after browning the chicken, onions, mushrooms and garlic. I really appreciated the video as well. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this as written except I used chicken thighs. In the video, I thought he said to keep all the chicken run-off after browning. I wish I would have stuck with my mind and drained it. The meal was so greasy I couldn't taste anything else. If you make this with thighs, PLEASE drain it before putting everything else in. It was a waste of food in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wow this was excellent. The husband really, really liked this one. Will be making this again. Yum. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Allrecipes.com needs to give Chef John a raise for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent Martinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe as is. Served over fettuccine. The red pepper flakes gave it just the right amount of kick. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Absolutely beyond fabulous. Followed recipe exactly! Do not change a thing! After 6 years of cooking, my hubby said this is the BEST dish I have EVER made! Thank you Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good, a little too spicy for me, I cut back on the red pepper and added more sauce and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I do this recipe over and over. I server it over Arborio rice. I don't use a whole chicken. I just buy a package of chicken thighs that I remove much of the skin from to reduce the amount of fat. I substitute Italian seasoning for rosemary and tomato paste for tomato sauce because it gives a lot more flavor. It turns out great every time and it really good the next day for lunch leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicholasNAthens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was great! Made a few changes-I didn't have any mushrroms so I added a chopped carrot and some celery. I also added a little red wine with the water. Used 6 large bone-in breasts. Will prepare this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had been craving chicken cacciatore and had never made it myself. All my memories of this dish were from when my mom used to make it when I was a kid. So I found this recipe and decided to give it a try...it was delicious! And better than my memories! I made two changes... 1. I deglazed the pan using 1/2 cup white wine after I cooked the onions, mushrooms, garlic and spices.(instead of the water) 2. Then I added one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (instead of the tomato sauce) The end result was tender, juicy, chicken that falls off the bone, in a rich and flavorful sauce that goes perfect over pasta. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States