Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was blander than I expected. I don't have a high tolerance for capsaicin, so I typically halve or quarter the amount of hot spices called for. In this I used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and couldn't taste it at all. Next time I'll use 1/2 tsp and more salt. I really don't understand why the recipe says to put the peppers on top of the chicken. You lose all the beautiful crispness that the chicken just got with the browning. The veggies released so much liquid, it completely covered the chicken. I would put the peppers under the chicken next time, which is what my instinct told me, but I ignored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy and oh soooo Delish!! I used 1/2 cup red cooking wine instead of the water. THanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was one of the best recipes I have prepared. This Chef know his biz. I did change a couple of small things. I used Rao's basil and tomato sauce; added a bit more red pepper flakes and chicken broth in lieu of water. I used Spanish rice on the side of the plate. My wife just loved this; the house smelled wonderful and I am a "believer". Chef John - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Sauce was too watery and thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Wonderful. Used bone in chicken breast; skinless as I do not like the skin. Everything else same. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really good and easy recipe. I made a couple of small changes by adding some chopped tomato, used chicken breasts that I seasoned, and broth instead of water. My only complaint is that the gravy is very watery. I may try to thicken it up some next time. I'll be making this again. It was perfect over angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This is a great, easy recipe and I can't believe how good it is for how relatively healthy and low fat it is! I made minor changes. I used chicken broth instead of water. Half way through the cooking process I noticed the sauce had almost dried up, so I added the remaining cans of chicken broth and tomato sauce (each had about 1/2 a can left) with some flour for thickening. Served over angel hair pasta as suggested by others with some parmesan cheese. Soo good, will make again! Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
We loved this! Made it mostly as written. I used 6 boneless, skinless thighs I had on hand & followed a couple of the suggestions I saw here. I used Sangiovese wine to deglaze the pan (plus some more for flavor) & a 28 oz. can of 'crushed tomatoes with basil' in place of sauce. The grocery store was out of green peppers, so I used all red ones (sweeter anyway). It came out awesome! I served it over yellow, saffron rice. DON'T TRY IT! Although I love both, they don't "play well together". TOO MUCH! I'll save my yummy, yellow rice for less flavorful dishes & serve my Cacciatore over pasta or white/brown rice. Take 2: Tried this again, browning 2 S/B breasts, seasoned with S&P + Italian seasoning & 3 large cloves SLICED garlic (sweeter), in my smaller dutch oven. Removed breasts & deglazed pan with Cabernet Sovignon. Added: NO WATER; 2, 4 oz cans of mushrooms, drained (was out of fresh); 1, 8 oz can of tomato sauce; 3 T. chicken broth; more Cabernet; LOTS of white onion & NO WATER. Put breasts back in dutch oven with LOTS of thin-sliced red, yellow & orange mini-peppers on top. Cooked as instructed . Added halved grape tomatoes for the last 30 min. Served it over linguine with 'at-the-table' fresh-grated Parmesan. AWESOME! This goes on my 'Go-To' list! Thanks, Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was really good. I used McCormick's Montreal chicken spice when browning boneless skinless thighs,cracked pepper, frozen onion and peppers, mushrooms, one 8 ounce can of tomato sauce, no extra water, sprinkled with balsamic vinegar and a bit of parmesan. Didn't need to cook more than 45 minutes. Served with bow tie pasta. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious. The only changes I made were that I used all dark meat, because that's our prefernce, and I doubled the amount of tomato sauce. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. My whole family loved it and I already gave the recipe to a coworker who gave it rave reviews too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States