Chef John's Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made it just like this except I added more garlic, I LOVE GARLIC and came out GREAT! Btw, I'm also a Chef!Congrats Chef John I use a lot of your basic recipes and "Tweak" them! but your basics are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firechef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by siretate
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Came out great! Did everything exactly per recipe. I've been to Puerto Rico twice, and it does remind me of the aromatic and flavorful food of the island. Just missing the Medalla cerveza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Cannot find the words to explain how amazing this dish tasted !!!! This dish deserves 20 Stars !! It tasted soooooo GOOD !! Loved loved it . Filing this recipe in my top 10 favorite dishes !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaandRenee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
MY OH MY!!! This was absolutely delicious. I used yellow and red bell peppers because that is all I had. Other than that made as directed and it was perfect. I am still puzzled by the review that described this as "too sweet". Between the briny flavor of olives and capers, this dish was FAR from sweet. Easy, hearty, budget meal to feed a family. Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We really liked this dish but it needed just a bit more kick. I used drumsticks and added homemade, sun dried, yellow tomatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. I served this with jalapeno collard greens and we ended up mixing it with the rice on our plates. Yum! I'll definitely make it again. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Basic recipe idea is great and we have had many versions ... but this was too "sweet" for our taste... and not too exciting... basic procedure was good... and most spices worked... but will look for a better spice combo for this dish..loved the garlic/cumin/cayenne/paprika.. just was missing something! sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this single dish meal tonight for my family of six ranging in age from 6 - 43. It was a hit. I used black olives instead of green as that's what I had on hand, an did not include the capers as I was out. I also used 1 teaspoon of sugar instead of two due to the overwhelming media coverage on reducing sugar intake as of late (sigh). Overall, easy and tasty. The 6 year old found it a bit spicy, but she is catching on to our table flavors nicely and did manage to eat at least the chicken bits. The presentation is lovely; when you remove the lid at the table, all of the chicken is nicely presented on top of the rice combination and smells just wonderful. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Simple. Terrific and Tasty! This dish was cooked completed on the stove top. Since I only had brown rice, I cooked the rice (in chicken broth) separately for 30 of the 45 minutes the package called for. I then added the rice to the pan added the chicken back in covered and cooked low on stove top. I repeat-Simple, Terrific & Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Chef John has a way with making everyday favorites a little more special. I was going to make regular chicken and rice with cream of chicken soup but I was glad I saw this. The pros: It uses ingredients you probably already have around the house. Easy and quick prep. Very flavorful. Cons: Maybe a little spicy for some, but this might be due to the fact I used a jalapeno because I didn't have bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
So flavorful, absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States