Chef John's Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This was a great recipe even with my omissions and substitutions. My husband is a very picky eater so I had to make some changes. I left out the capers and olives and used only breasts. The flavors were amazing. I can only imagine how good the original recipe is. Thank you for yet another great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Absolutely loved it! I did tweak it slightly though (sorry Chef!) - used a mix of white and brown rice and topped with a cut up rotisserie chicken. I don't have an oven proof pot so I placed the rice mixture in a 13x9 pan, arranged the chicken pieces on top, covered tightly with foil and baked for just under an hour. (Brown rice takes a lot longer to cook than white.) Smelled so good while it was baking, we couldn't wait to dig in. We loved the wonderful blend of flavors in this chicken and rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I had removed the sugar, and we hadn't noticed a difference... but you may not want to do that if acidity is something you are worried about in a dish. :) Unfortunately, and totally not the fault of this recipe, my husband does not like baked rice, of almost any kind, because he does not like the sticky texture. Oh boy! So, to make this recipe (which is one of my personal favorites!) I am going to try something totally crazy... like unhulled (not pearled) barely, which should keep its shape... or something like it... I may even try quinoa since its cooking time is roughly the same as white rice (but might still be tricky because it technically has a different liquid ratio) Oh well, again not the fault of this recipe, purely the preferences in texture of my hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Superb!! Absolutely superb! The wonderful aroma from this dish still lingered through the kitchen and dining room on into the next morning. The dish itself was fantastic. Even my wife, who doesn't like "spicey" raved about it. The flavors were simply outstanding. Another "TEN" star from Chef John. Didn't change a thing -- Okay!! just one thing. Used just bone-in/skin-on thighs instead of the whole chicken. So, shoot me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIMASU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
A+ Chef John!. This dish was deeeelish! My girlfriend and I can't wait to try another one of your recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is now a family favourite. Even my picky eaters love it, and it's even better the next day for lunch. I wouldn't add the salt since there is quite a bit in the capers and olives I used. Fragrant and delicious, you have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Lu
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I only had left over deboned chicken (2 cups chopped) and wasn't sure it'd work but it's 'gotta have seconds' delicious! I am not much of a cook but this will fool 'em ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I just made this and thought it came out pretty darn good considering I'm a terrible cool and forgot the olives and capers....but my question is, once you bring the flame to a simmer, do you keep it on the stovetop while the rice cooks and then put it into the oven or do you place it in the oven right away and let the rice cool in the oven? I did the latter, not being sure, and had to cook if for almost triple the time. It still tastes great but would like to know for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Chef John never disappoints! This dish look beautiful and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made it just like this except I added more garlic, I LOVE GARLIC and came out GREAT! Btw, I'm also a Chef!Congrats Chef John I use a lot of your basic recipes and "Tweak" them! but your basics are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firechef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States