Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I tried this off a whim, and it was superb! I have a few plans to add my own flare, but this alone is quite good and very easy to do! Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Legg
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Succulent and chicken breast are seldom found in the same sentence, but you can find them together here in this delightfully simple recipe, composed of a few common ingredients. Chef John really shows off the flavor of chicken and mushrooms. Yes, you may add more things, like wine, or aromatics, but the more additions, the more complications and subbing, and then the tweaking begins! I chose not to view the video beforehand, just to check out the instructions and the cooking times. I went on the low side of the recommended times, and the chicken came out perfectly, with rich, delicious mushrooms. We really enjoyed our Sunday chicken today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe!! My husband (who doesn't even like mushrooms) raved about it. The flavor is spectacular. Don't add anything else or delete anything. Try it as written and you'll be hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
A great simple recipe. I made it with boneless skinless chicken breasts and added a chopped onion for a bit more flavor, but I'm sure it would be just as good as directed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
But if you have on hand scallions and garlic, don't hesitate to add them just before the chicken. A little white wine is good to add just before transferring to the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Got this recipe from a top NY chef with one twist: rub skin side with your favorite pork/chicken rub ( grab one from the store-Stonewall great) then sprinkle on other side when chick is skin down. Fab favor and sauce. PS olive oil not needed as skin produces lots of rendered fat.-Drain excess when you turn chick in pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Incredible. Try it as is for the easiest weeknight meal you'll ever make or add your own seasonings. You can't miss with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Practically perfect. Try this...delete the salt, put a chicken bullion cube in the water and heat it first, then add 3 tablespoons of Marsala wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
We cook a lot of Chef John's recipes. We've made this twice and it's one of our favorites. If you liked this, try his Pork Diablo.... awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Excellent dish. Just follow the recipe and video exactly and it is no-fail. My spouse picked up the chicken at the market, and as it is often the case, came back with the wrong item. :-) It was chicken leg quarters. We followed the same recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States