Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
A great simple recipe. I made it with boneless skinless chicken breasts and added a chopped onion for a bit more flavor, but I'm sure it would be just as good as directed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Succulent and chicken breast are seldom found in the same sentence, but you can find them together here in this delightfully simple recipe, composed of a few common ingredients. Chef John really shows off the flavor of chicken and mushrooms. Yes, you may add more things, like wine, or aromatics, but the more additions, the more complications and subbing, and then the tweaking begins! I chose not to view the video beforehand, just to check out the instructions and the cooking times. I went on the low side of the recommended times, and the chicken came out perfectly, with rich, delicious mushrooms. We really enjoyed our Sunday chicken today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I followed this recipe to the T, and it came out delicious! It was simple, quick, and had only a few main ingredients so I didn't have to go to the store to get anything off hand. It also still tasted good when I reheated it for lunch. I think next time I may add in some onions, just for some more flavor, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Terrific. Quick. Simple. Delicious. No special ingredients. What more could a busy person ask for! No excuse for not oooking. The video is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Got this recipe from a top NY chef with one twist: rub skin side with your favorite pork/chicken rub ( grab one from the store-Stonewall great) then sprinkle on other side when chick is skin down. Fab favor and sauce. PS olive oil not needed as skin produces lots of rendered fat.-Drain excess when you turn chick in pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Incredible. Try it as is for the easiest weeknight meal you'll ever make or add your own seasonings. You can't miss with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
But if you have on hand scallions and garlic, don't hesitate to add them just before the chicken. A little white wine is good to add just before transferring to the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Practically perfect. Try this...delete the salt, put a chicken bullion cube in the water and heat it first, then add 3 tablespoons of Marsala wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I tried this off a whim, and it was superb! I have a few plans to add my own flare, but this alone is quite good and very easy to do! Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Legg
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Excellent! I’m on a special low acid diet and this fit the bill. I did not use boneless chicken breasts because I believe that the marrow in the bones add flavor. I used a cast iron skillet instead of a stainless steel skillet and it reduced the time of caramelizing the mushrooms in half. I’m a seasoned cook and I always want to add something like wine or whatever to pan jus. I watched Chef John’s video of this recipe and I think that I saw him sneak in some cayenne pepper in the video. Chef John always has cayenne pepper in his recipes and I’d bet that he adds it to his oatmeal in the morning. :) I served this with Sarah’s Rice Pilaf recipe that is posted on this site and with green beans as the 2nd side dish. It was a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States