Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I followed this exactly as is and it was delicious and really easy. I was really impressed with the flavor with only two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
A very easy recipe...that gets you back to basics. With the simplicity of the recipe, the true flavors of all the ingredients is succulent. I also put a splash of dry sherry in the gravy, for a little bit of a personal flavor boost. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvbeer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Maintain control and you won't be disappointed I added this to my rotation and the family never grows tired of it. Only tip I would add is to throw a handle cover over the handle of your skillet after you remove it from the oven. I've grabbed that hot handle more than once when I returned to the stove to add the water I guess I could have said I only did it once and appeared a little smarter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
BORING! BLAND! DULL! You should at least use white wine instead of water. much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is one of my regular rotation meals, but I don't challenge myself to the two ingredient rule, what for? It goes from good to amazing with a few extra ingredients. After browning the chicken all over (which renders a lot of fat off for a lighter gravy), I pour off all put one tablespoon of chicken fat and cook an onion for one minute with one clove of minced garlic until light brown, scraping up all the browned bits from the chicken. Add the chunky cut mushrooms and 1 tablespoon of flour and sautee for a minute. I add one cup of chicken broth and a tablespoon of fresh thyme. Bring to the boil and pour over the chicken (I use a whole chicken cut in 8 pieces) cover and slow cook at about 300 degrees for about 45 minutes or until chicken wing pulls off easily when you tug on it. Garnish with fresh chives or parsley before serving. And don't forget to serve that luscious gravy over the chicken and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It is good - a good derivative is to add garlic and some scallions and don't forget the butter at the end. Simple, easy and yummy. In my house I have to scale everything up and the quantities work. If you want a bit more juice for on top of your risotto or rice, add a bit of chick broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great quick and easy recipe that's simple but very tasty. We used boneless skinless breast because that's what we had. We also doubled the mushrooms and sauteed them with half an (large) onion. Served with mixed vegetables and creamy chicken rice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kaela
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! It really pays to go minimalist, the flavors from the mushrooms are to die for! I did accidentally buy bone-in chicken breast halves and find it hard to find boneless at my local grocery store but it still turned out great, they just need to be in the over for about an hour, instead of the 15 to 20 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I followed it to the T. The only thing is I couldn't get the skin to brown like the picture. Next time I will try broiling it in the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent and simple! Used white wine not water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States