Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Way too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Absolutely superb! My wife and I came to the conclusion some time ago that the simplest meals are the ones we most often enjoy the most. Therefore, when I saw this recipe I knew I wanted to try it. For the first time I did it exactly as Chef John did. It turned out fabulous! We could taste the pure simple flavours of the chicken and mushrooms together, and loved every bite. Next time perhaps I'll try substituting white wine for the water to see how that turns out. However, it'd pretty hard to top what we just finished for supper 15 minutes ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This was good, but I think it could have been better. I did make a couple of changes. I didn’t have skin-on chicken breasts, so I had to use skinless, and I cut back on the oil by about half. I also skipped using the oven altogether and finished cooking the chicken in the pan, and kept it warm in the oven, while I sautéed the mushrooms and made the sauce. The sauce was very, very thin, so I would try to thicken that up next time. And I also thought that although the water worked, I think it would have been better using wine or a broth/wine combination. I will try this again with those alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I thought this was very good - and so easy! I accidentally bought a bone-in chicken breast, but it worked out fine, possibly even better than if I'd used boneless. I also added a crumbled chicken bouillon cube to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I am 18 and decided to cook a nice meal for my parents, and they absolutely loved this! However after cutting up the mushrooms I added some green onions, tablespoon of bar-b-q sauce, half a can of black beens, and tobacco sauce. I mixed this all together and let it set in the fridge while I prepared everything else. I cooked it exactly like the directions said, my chicken was juicy and flavorful. I will definitely be cooking this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this with skinless chicken breast and it was still delicious. My very picky 12 year old son even loved it! It is the perfect meal for a busy family and I find it amazing that two ingredients cooked properly can be so tasty. Well done Chef John! I am looking forward to making it next time with skin-on chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was super easy and so delicious! I added onion which was excellent. This does not taste like such an easy dish- and it looks beautiful! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts as well. YUM~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Breig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
REALLY GOOD Have made many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
We looooved this! I added a half an onion to the mushrooms in the pan, and found that when the chicken was done cooking the mushrooms were perfectly flavored, no need to make the sauce. I also used a combination of butter and coconut oil which added great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This dish is easy to make and I often times make a batch and freeze individual breasts and take them to the office for lunch. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States