Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Chef John does it again! Also, you guys should try Chef John's chicken Kiev.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I can only emphasize what others have said, i.e., FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. EXACTLY. I often improvise and change recipes, but I trust Chef John to know what he is doing, so I did this exactly the way he said, and oh wow, it really worked! Chicken was tender and moist, sauce was tasty, mushrooms were perfectly caramelized. Yes, you could add garlic or onions or shallots or a pinch of cayenne, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE no canned soup. He is showing us a professional cooking technique that always works. Do it the way he says and take pride in your accomplishment. Thanks again, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I have to confess I was a bit skeptical at first. How could something with so few ingredients be tasty, but I was very surprised. I did tweak the recipe based on reviews and changed the water to wine. Other than that I pretty much stuck to the recipe. It really was AMAZING tasting. Thank you, Chef John. This one is in my recipe box forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Followed exactly using boned thighs instead of breast, because I prefer the flavor of dark meat...this was simply fabulous! Bonus was learning how to bone a chicken thigh! Success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made just as directed...delicious! Had one of the butchers at Mariano's remove the bone for me. I was pleasantly surprised at the moistness and flavor of such a simple dish. Wouldn't change anything about this. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Simon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wasn't impressed. It was simple but tasted simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Couldn't be easier. Followed the recipe to a "T" and even the mushrooms were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe. However, I cooked the chicken on the grill and cooked the mushrooms inside some aluminum foil on the same grill and added them at the table. Definitely a keeper. I know I didn't follow the recipe as written, but rated it with five stars because I felt the mushrooms went well with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Good but very bland. Chicken was done perfectly but needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States