Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The real deal. Real food not chemical mixes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My family said these are the best homemade dumplings I have made! I used all chicken thighs, boneless and skinless, so I didn't simmer the whole hour, maybe half the time. Thanks again Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Adjusted by using 6 chicken leg quarters and a tablespoon of better than chicken bouillon as well as fresh poultry mix herbs. Doubled the carrot, onion and celery. We prefer the flat dumplings so used Mary B's brand which made this easier. Also made a roux in a side pan and slowly added some stock to make sure when added back to the pot it did not have a lumpy texture. Took advice of others and added some extra fresh herbs toward the end. Also threw in some frozen peas. EXCELLENT! I love your recipes, thank you for providing a recipe that is not cream soup based!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very good! I'd never had nor made Chicken and Dumplings before but my husband was very anxious for me to make this. Really just chicken soup I guess. I must say though, I do not make American dumplings...I just don't care for the taste of them. I made English ones with Suet and flour so I can't rate the dumpling portion but may try making them Chef John's way next time, because I notice they don't include baking powder or soda or whichever it is that make American dumplings taste the way they do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!The only thing I added, was my Mrs Dash with the blue cap and fresh garlic. I also recommend watching the video. It sure makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Absolutely loved the texture of the dumplings. I added quite a bit of roux to give the base some body; I'm not a fan of dumplings on soup. This was the first chicken and dumpling (or dumplings of any kind) that my daughter had tried and she fell in love with them. I had no idea how much of anything to put in because I only watched the video and it came out great anyway. I used sour cream instead of creme-whatever and it worked just fine. I also added a small can of cream of chicken soup which added flavor and a bit of thickness. For those that think there isn't enough flavor; you know you can fix that, right? I'll be making this again real soon and making my own variations on the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Faegre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The first time I have made chicken and dumplings and this was a great guide. I added garlic when I was making the stock also used corn starch as the thicking agent instead of flour. Definitely will be made again my family really enjoyed the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved it! My first time making dumplings and they came out perfect! (I even added 8oz instead of 4oz sour cream/by accident) the only recommendation I have is...before you add the dumplings add 1 can cream of chicken soup & 2 Cups (or more) additional chicken broth & bring back to simmer. After I made mine I had way more dumpling than I did liquid so I took the dumplings off and did just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States