Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I've made this recipe once as stated and I was disappointed with the results except for the dumplings. I make my chicken soup from a roasted chicken and I make my broth from the bones from the chicken and roast them with some root vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My family did not like this recipe. They especially did not like the dumplings. I thought it smelled good but it wasn't very flavorful. I made this EXACTLY as written and I felt it was costly to make. The creme fraiche was $7.00 for a small container but I bought it because the reviews said it really made the recipe. Sorry but this will not be seen in my kitchen anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Has anyone made this in a crock or slow cookr? If so, do steps to prepare change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMYT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! For those who thought it a little bland, you may have missed the step "season to taste." I omitted cayenne pepper to make it a little more kid-friendly, and added kale to the broth with the chicken to make it a one pot meal. Also, as per the suggestion of another reviewer, I stored the leftover dumplings separately from the soup to preserve the broth & consistency of the dumplings. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but most home-made comfort food recipes are. My husband loved it and the kids liked it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythos
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
My husband and I LOVED this recipe, the kids not so much. I think between the thyme in the dumplings and the soup, it was a little too "herby" for them. Next time I think I make half as many dumplings, with less thyme and store them separately as leftover (they absorbed ALL the soup while in the fridge). Very tastey food for people over 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I think this is absolutely delicious. I have made it twice. The first time was a disaster because I replaced the cream in the dumplings with sour cream and some flour. I had been to three grocery stores and couldn't find the one listed in the recipe. I had read that subbing crème fresh for sour cream was fine so I thought lets go backward. Ick. It turned into a mushy cottage cheese mess spread all over the yummy chicken. Almost inedible. The mixture the first time was so much soup that the second time I cut the liquids in half. Still a bit too much liquid for me. The first time I made it I had used homemade broth. The second time, I used canned broth and added a tablespoon of better than chicken bouillon. I cut up about 6 carrots each time. I used a simple recipe for dumplings that I had for the second time. I also don't buy whole chickens. The first time I put in a combination of thighs and breasts with bones in. The second time, I had boneless breasts so that's what I used. It worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
wow, this recipe was AWESOME!! i only changed 2 things: i used fresh rosmary, chopped very finely, in addition to the thyme, and i thickened up the broth a bit more than chef did. i did use homemade creme freche for the dumplings (leftover from the stroganof) and be sure to use self-rising flour as chef suggests. it makes a world of difference. stew was fantastic, but the dumplings were OUT OF THIS WORLD!! light, fluffy, yet with a good bite to them, they didnt turn to mush in your mouth. my very fussy husband, who insists he doesnt like dumplings or "soggy bread" gobbled these up. i think it is imperative to use the self-rising flour like chef suggests.....i have made it with, and without (using plain flour, baking powder, etc) and there is a huge difference. if you are hesitant to buy a bag of self-rising flour just for this recipe, check out chef johns peach cobbler. really, you cant go wrong with any of his recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was excellent. Did not have Self rising flour so used 2cups AP, 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of salt mixed. They turn out great. I used more thyme as it was in need to be used which actually made it so wonderful. This is a great dish to fragrant the house on a cold winter night. Not to long that you cannot do it on a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Sauce was quite thin and didn't have much flavor, though I think the cayenne pepper actually saved it. It was fun trying a different version of the Chicken and Dumplings I usually prepare. Thanks for the post Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Everyone liked. Took about 1-1/2 hours to make (chicken needed to boil for 1 hour). But very tasty and better than package biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States