Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Chef John's recipes never dissapoint! Wonderful flavors, well worth the time spent by the stove. Used some different herbs (tarragon just isn't available, darn) but wow. Oh, and DO use cream, rather than milk if you are not calorie-conscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
WOW! I can't believe there aren't more written reviews. I didn't have all of the herbs called for but used what I had, and the stew was amazing. I also didn't have mushrooms, so I just added a few more carrots and celery (including the celery leaves because they always add great flavor). It is definitely worth the stove time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very Hearty meal!! I even cut out the butter to make it low-cholesterol and it was still delish! First off, the chicken and stock came out great! The chicken was not dry at all. I used grains of paradise and a pinch of all spice since I did not have cloves; and fresh sage instead of bay leaf. When I cooked the vegetables I used olive oil instead of butter because my husband has high cholesterol. Also, I made biscuits from scratch using olive oil instead of butter and just baked them for ten minutes before placing them on top of the dish, (the mix is runny not stiff like canned biscuits so I didn't want them to sink!) Overall, the meal took a long time to prepare but was very hearty and flavorful plus I had leftovers. You get A LOT of meal just from a chicken some vegetables and herbs so it's family-budget-friendly :) It is a little spicy, next time I will put less cayenne, and I think I will maybe add some parmesan to give it something a little extra since I cut out the butter! Very impressed and will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My husband is not a lover of chicken but he rated this meal as excellent. Another great recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
OMG!!! My family thinks I'm a good cook but kind of takes me for granted, this dish was the exception, they kept repeating throughout the meal how great it was and when was I going to make it again! At first I was disappointed that the "gravy" wasn't as thick as I thought it should be but when we all started drinking it with our spoons like soup it didn't seem like a bad idea. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I admit I left out the cayenne in deference to my kids, but otherwise made as directed and WOW, is this yummy. I'm going to start stalking Chef John around this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I am just so happy I found and tried this recipe. It is flavourful and delicious. A warning to those about to make it it is a tad bit spicey. I am not one for spicey foods but I still loved this. Next time I will tone it down with the peppers. I think it is a must to use all the spices otherwise you will lose some of the flavor. I cannot wait to make this again. I should mention I don't own a dutch oven so those like me can use a stock pot and then throw it all in a roaster when it is time to place in the oven. Works just the same. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
10 stars. the fresh herbs and ingredients really make this dish! I did not use the herbes de province or white pepper but its such an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Full of flavor with perfect results. Be warned this is spicy hot, so do take that into account when preparing this dish. I used dried herbs as I did not have the fresh and just cut back to 1 tsp. of each. I made homemade dumplings instead of the purchased biscuits. Simply dropped them into the stew and done in 20 minutes in the oven (kept the pot top on). Really great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is pretty good - spicy, hearty... I did use dried spices, which probably made the flavors more intense, so next time I'll scale it down (although it's not a problem - it's really good just the way it is). My boyfriend raved about it, so I'd say it's a keeper! It's different than the usual chicken and dumplings I eat - probably just more herbs and spices, so it's all dependent on how you like it. I like it both ways. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States