Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Omg awesome! Add wine:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Awesome recipe! Only a few things I did to make this simpler: One I baked chicken breasts in the oven and used store bought chicken stock, and two I did not cook the stew for 45 min. I let it cook just until the carrots were tender. The fresh herbs make this!! Oh, I baked it in a 9x13 pan, and split the biscuits in half so that they cooked through faster. DEEEEEELISH!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Delicious! Short on time I used boneless skinless chicken breast cut up and cooked with garlic cloves and used chicken broth instead of the homemade stock, and it was still amazing! This will become a staple recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cibyl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Totally awesome. Made a "kid friendly" version without all the spice, and they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Wow. I followed this recipe instructions exactly, except for the fact that I had no idea where to find cloves, and I don't personally like mushrooms. Yes, it takes a while, but you can reasonably break down tasks simultaneously. So that not much prep time is needed, and much of your dishes and waste are already dealt with before the meal is prepared. This meal was incredible. It's *better* than most restaurants. I used a stock pot for the first step, and a dutch oven for steps three through six. In hindsight, I wish I had used chicken broth instead of water in step one. Even without, I am telling you this stew is incredible. The combination of herbs is good. One set of herbs (tarragon, rosemary, herbes de Provence) reminds me a little of absinthe for some reason, while the others added plenty of spiciness. I highly recommend this meal. It deserves WAY more reviews. It is spicy hot as some noted, but not overly so. If one doesn't want it, they could probably leave out the cayenne pepper. I think the cayenne pepper makes it perfect, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was tasty, but a bit too spicy. Next time I would not so much fresh taragon since it has a strong licorice flavor to it. I probably would opt for a spoon of it dry. I'd also cut all of the pepper in half and then add individual taste after it's served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Full of flavor with perfect results. Be warned this is spicy hot, so do take that into account when preparing this dish. I used dried herbs as I did not have the fresh and just cut back to 1 tsp. of each. I made homemade dumplings instead of the purchased biscuits. Simply dropped them into the stew and done in 20 minutes in the oven (kept the pot top on). Really great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My husband is not a lover of chicken but he rated this meal as excellent. Another great recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is pretty good - spicy, hearty... I did use dried spices, which probably made the flavors more intense, so next time I'll scale it down (although it's not a problem - it's really good just the way it is). My boyfriend raved about it, so I'd say it's a keeper! It's different than the usual chicken and dumplings I eat - probably just more herbs and spices, so it's all dependent on how you like it. I like it both ways. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
OMG!!! My family thinks I'm a good cook but kind of takes me for granted, this dish was the exception, they kept repeating throughout the meal how great it was and when was I going to make it again! At first I was disappointed that the "gravy" wasn't as thick as I thought it should be but when we all started drinking it with our spoons like soup it didn't seem like a bad idea. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States