Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Chef John, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but my mother always referred to the scum that you and I (as well as many others) remove is albumin. Sidebar on this: When my gramma made her chicken soup, she kept it at a low simmer and skimmed every last bit from the pot, resulting in golden yellow broth that was absolutely clear. Kugelblitz, whole cloves are found in your grocery store along with other spices and herbs. This recipe knocked our socks off, and I wasn't even wearing any! While I may adjust seasonings a bit next time, I made it according to the recipe. DH and I pigged out on it, and Himself took the rest to work, where he'll share with whichever one of his employees has first shift with him that day (they rotate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frederick Kahrs
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Quite delicious for a cold, rainy night. Very spicy and I like that but you can always adjust to your taste. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frederick Kahrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My whole family loved it! Time consuming, so I made a double batch using a large roasting pan, two chickens, and doubled the ingredients. I didn't use mushrooms, cayenne pepper or herbs de Provence but threw in some thyme instead. I used all dried herbs. Don't throw in extra liquid if it seems too thick as it will be great thicker later with the biscuits. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this tonight using grocery store rotisserie chicken, veggies off the store salad bar and boxed chicken stock - so good everyone had seconds. And my picky child had a third dish. So quick and easy I'll make this again. I can't imagine how good if I had cooked the chicken from scratch. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Nunn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe! Unless you are brand new to cooking and either don't have experience yet or don't yet trust your own cooking instincts, you can just use your judgement regarding the types and amounts of spices you use in this or any recipe. For instance, I don't like a ton of pepper in my dishes, so I simply cut back the amount called for in this recipe and it was perfect for us. I also rarely put cayenne in recipes like this, so I left that out too. So for us, with these small changes, it is a five star recipe! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great recipe,,,,I prefer the Bisquik dumpling recipe (on the box) vs the grands. Always a favorite on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious. Perfect for a cool weekend. I didn't have canned biscuits so I used the Joy of Cooking recipe for cornmeal dumplings, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. I I also cut the pepper in half, but I think I could have used more. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I first started making this recipe a couple of years ago. At first, I needed the video to help me, as I am in no way, shape, or form a chef. Now I know the recipe and can pretty much just glance and throw it together. Point is: It gets to be pretty simple after you've made it a couple times. This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! It is the perfect blend of everything and my family/friends think I am much more of a cook than I really am when I make it, which is a great thing. It's creamy and flavorful with a pretty decent kick, yet balanced out by the sweetness of the biscuits. [Note: I think one could use a tiny bit less spice, evenly proportioned down by maybe an eighth or quarter of teaspoon - the spices seem to all work their magic together, so to take out a little of one might ruin the harmony.] Thank you, Chef John! You rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe many times since I first saw it fall of 2012; in fact I have bought 3 friends a porcelain Dutch oven to make this in so they could have it too. This is delicious and so worth the time spent preparing it. I look forward to cool weather just so I can make this! The recipe is wonderful just as it is. Try it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great recipe, definitely a spiced up version of chicken & biscuits. Next time I might cut the pepper and paprika down but I will make it again, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States