Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made this for my family and it was awesome! It was so delicious. I will definitely be making this again. It does come out slightly spicy so if you don't like spicy maybe use less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used slightly less than 4 lbs. of chicken part because all whole chickens were much larger than 4 lbs. I was a bit thrown off by the 9 qt. stock pot. I used a 6 qt. and it was fine. I used dried tarragon but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It took all afternoon and while it was good I don't think it was worth the effort. My simple chicken and dumpling recipe is better and completely homemade. Sometimes simpler is better. My husband liked the spiciness, but with the time involved he won't see this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The cayenne is completely overwhelming! Left out the white pepper but used the full amount of black and cayenne and regretted it. It seemed to be a good enough recipe otherwise to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Awesome! I found it to be a little spicy though, and I think the pepper takes away from the flavor of the stew itself. Next time I will cut the pepper way back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a really good recipe. The entire guest loved it. Maybe next time I will add one chicken breast to add more meat. This is a keeper. Great for a Sunday dinner. My sides were boiled corn and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
If all of the reviews would only reflect the recipe AS WRITTEN, this is, in fact, a time-consuming, OVERLY spiced knock-off chicken and dumpling recipe that is NOT what I expect from Chef John. The result is 1/4 inch deep in butter fat and the only flavor, other than that of the fresh spices, is TOO MUCH PEPPER. A teaspoon of white pepper, a teaspoon of black pepper, and a teaspoon of Cayenne is overkill. Usually Chef John's recipes include a reasonable amount of pepper. I DO know enough to change the amounts of spice, but will only rate a recipe on making it AS WRITTEN. This is not good. P.S. Chef John, I still love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was very good, like a chicken pot pie with biscuits for the crust. However, I agree with the reviewers who said it was too peppery. Although I deleted the black pepper, it was still a bit too peppery, so next time I will decrease the other peppers, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was so easy to make. I am not a fan of spice so I omitted the wht pepper and cayenne . The broth was excellent and the fleur de Provence made the dish. Thanks John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I could not give this 5 stars because like many others, I halved the pepper(s)amounts and omitted herbes de Provence(didn't have). Topped with my own homemade biscuits. It's a marvelous recipe, but very time-consuming. If you have that rainy morn or afternoon and are in your cooking mood, you can't go wrong. Give it 3-1/2 hours. Even with the time involved, it's lovely. But then again, I think I'm in love with Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made this last night, it was a little time consuming to make but it came out good, didn't have tarragon so left that out, used cream instead of milk, and added more cayanne pepper than what it called for, and used pilsbury grand biscuits, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States