Chef John's Cheesy Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing! They're simply the best. I recommend following the directions in the video, since he shows you what the texture of the dough should be in each stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a very easy recipe to do and it taste just like store bought cheese crackers. Well use this over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made these today and they are delicious but I learned a few things along the way. 1. Make sure your cheese is a warm as the butter, cold cheese is harder to work with than cold butter. 2. Do not re-roll the scraps, makes them tough and chewy, if you're making these for guests just nibble on the uneven ones. 3. Don't bother wasting your time docking them with a skewer five times just poke them twice with the times of a fork, 4. Use your hands to mix the dough, at least for the last few minutes. 5. They're easier to dock if they stay sitting next to each other before putting them on the baking sheet. 6. Do use foil but just spray it with non-stick spray instead of wiping oil all over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These were amazing. So easy so make, quick and better than the store-bought ones. Next time I will substitute water for hot sauce, to make them spicy! I might try to substitue butter for coconut oil, to see if it could also work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luting k (lukab)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made these crackers so many times after watching Chef John's video. Every time they still gone in minutes! But now I cut the ingredients down to 5 and skip few steps, still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luting k (lukab)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tasted just like cheez-its. Not a fan of cheez-its lol. I suppose I was expecting a better taste. You are definitely better off getting the branded crackers instead, in my opinion. Will need to look for a new cracker recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wow. I just finished my first batch...this is an incredible recipe! So crispy and crunchy, and perfectly orange. Perfect substitute for the store version, may be even better! Thanks so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great flavor, I added red pepper flakes and garlic salt instead of regular salt. My only complaint is that they were a little chewy instead of crunchy... Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
My "crackers" were oily and didn't crisp up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara C Spurgin Manzer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made these tonight on a whim, and wow. I did two different batches, one following the recipe and one with mozzarella and garlic. The recipe ones tasted almost identical to store bought cheese crackers (Nips or Cheese-its) and the mozzarella ones were like little bread sticks. A big keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Chef John's Brandade

This amazing dish from the south of France is a must have!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States