Chef John's Cheesy Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made these today and they are delicious but I learned a few things along the way. 1. Make sure your cheese is a warm as the butter, cold cheese is harder to work with than cold butter. 2. Do not re-roll the scraps, makes them tough and chewy, if you're making these for guests just nibble on the uneven ones. 3. Don't bother wasting your time docking them with a skewer five times just poke them twice with the times of a fork, 4. Use your hands to mix the dough, at least for the last few minutes. 5. They're easier to dock if they stay sitting next to each other before putting them on the baking sheet. 6. Do use foil but just spray it with non-stick spray instead of wiping oil all over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These were amazing. So easy so make, quick and better than the store-bought ones. Next time I will substitute water for hot sauce, to make them spicy! I might try to substitue butter for coconut oil, to see if it could also work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luting k (lukab)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made these crackers so many times after watching Chef John's video. Every time they still gone in minutes! But now I cut the ingredients down to 5 and skip few steps, still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luting k (lukab)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tasted just like cheez-its. Not a fan of cheez-its lol. I suppose I was expecting a better taste. You are definitely better off getting the branded crackers instead, in my opinion. Will need to look for a new cracker recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wow. I just finished my first batch...this is an incredible recipe! So crispy and crunchy, and perfectly orange. Perfect substitute for the store version, may be even better! Thanks so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great flavor, I added red pepper flakes and garlic salt instead of regular salt. My only complaint is that they were a little chewy instead of crunchy... Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
My "crackers" were oily and didn't crisp up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara C Spurgin Manzer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made these tonight on a whim, and wow. I did two different batches, one following the recipe and one with mozzarella and garlic. The recipe ones tasted almost identical to store bought cheese crackers (Nips or Cheese-its) and the mozzarella ones were like little bread sticks. A big keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I feel like I must have done something wrong since they have not crisped up even after cooling... Maybe I didn't cook them long enough; they looked done though. They seem to have so much potential. I wish they came out as good as the video's. *does anyone know how to dry them out more, that for sure will work? Maybe the oven or microwave, but I don't want to mess them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used a bag of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a bag of shredded Parmesan cheese. Used a food processor to make it easier. But it was hard to cut into square so I kept rolling it out and kept cutting out with a small flower cookie cutter. They came out wonderful and cheesy. But next time I will try and shred cheese on my own to see if that tastes better than a bag of shredded cheese from the grocery store. For some reason I think it will.....:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States