Chef John's Cheesy Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tasted just like cheez-its. Not a fan of cheez-its lol. I suppose I was expecting a better taste. You are definitely better off getting the branded crackers instead, in my opinion. Will need to look for a new cracker recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wow. I just finished my first batch...this is an incredible recipe! So crispy and crunchy, and perfectly orange. Perfect substitute for the store version, may be even better! Thanks so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great flavor, I added red pepper flakes and garlic salt instead of regular salt. My only complaint is that they were a little chewy instead of crunchy... Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
My "crackers" were oily and didn't crisp up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara C Spurgin Manzer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made these tonight on a whim, and wow. I did two different batches, one following the recipe and one with mozzarella and garlic. The recipe ones tasted almost identical to store bought cheese crackers (Nips or Cheese-its) and the mozzarella ones were like little bread sticks. A big keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I feel like I must have done something wrong since they have not crisped up even after cooling... Maybe I didn't cook them long enough; they looked done though. They seem to have so much potential. I wish they came out as good as the video's. *does anyone know how to dry them out more, that for sure will work? Maybe the oven or microwave, but I don't want to mess them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used a bag of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a bag of shredded Parmesan cheese. Used a food processor to make it easier. But it was hard to cut into square so I kept rolling it out and kept cutting out with a small flower cookie cutter. They came out wonderful and cheesy. But next time I will try and shred cheese on my own to see if that tastes better than a bag of shredded cheese from the grocery store. For some reason I think it will.....:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Just made these and I couldn't even wait for them to cool to give them a try. I loved them & they tasted just like Cheez-its! I used Cracker Barrel Extra Sharp Cheddar and Kraft shredded parmesan. The cheddar flavor is definitely strong enough. I also used a little extra cayenne for mild spiciness. It was all easy to do, just time consuming. Here are some things I noted and some tips. I thought the parmesan shreds were too long and stiff so I chopped them into tinier bits before mixing them in. Instead of using a fork to blend in the flour I used a pastry blender (all the wires and the ability to push down into the dough was much less work!) I used Reynolds non-stick foil on a thick cookie sheet and just a light dab of oil smeared with a paper towel. This might help reduce the greasiness some mentioned. I don't think you need the oil if using the non-stick foil, though. I used a sea salt grinder to salt them prior to baking. Knowing my gas oven, I set the temp 5 degrees lower and they baked in about 11-12 minutes. My only problem making them was rolling out the dough to a uniform thickness. I would err on the side of thinner so they can get crispier. Even my thicker ones were delicious, though. Don't forget the hole punches. I employed an unused wood stick from an oil diffuser as a toothpick was too thin. These help limit how puffy they get. I would make these again, possibly with other cheeses too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This are awesome and so easy! I had some shaved parmesan and shredded cheddar in the fridge so that's what I used - but we're excited to try other flavors! I used my food processor to speed up the process and doubled the batch and they were still gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saemma
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
So Delicious! Perfectly Tasty! I made this 3x already and used a combination of parmigiano reggiano, mozzarella and aged cheddar. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States