Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Chef John is my favorite recipe source and I always enjoy his recipes. This recipe was very good, but a bit salty for my taste. I used 3 Crabs fish sauce. When I looked around for comparable recipes I found one by chef Charles Phan of the Slanted Door. His notes were: "NOTES Because fish sauces vary in their saltiness, Phan advises adding the fish sauce to taste. SERVE WITH Steamed jasmine rice." Perhaps the 3 Crabs brand fish sauce (Viet Huong) is a bit mort salty than the fish sauce used by Chef John in the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Excellent!!! I did not have jalapeno's so I used about a tablespoon of Sriracha in the sauce and used cashews instead of peanuts. Quartering the thighs gives this a really nice texture. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delicious! Loved how easy and quick it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I always try a recipe the first time by following the directions exactly, which is what I did here. Only left out the peanuts as they seemed stale when I pulled them out of the pantry. This was fantastic and truly restaurant quality. I loved it and my gourmet-in-in-the-making ten year old was raving about it. He said it smelled wonderful while cooking, said it looked great before he tried it, and then followed that with a Woohoo and requests for seconds and thirds. If that is not a win.... Don't know what is. Even hubby who hates ethnic dishes of all kind and usually answers in the negative when I ask "should I make this again" said it's ok. At my house this is the best I can expect for a new recipe. Next time doubling the quantity to have leftovers for lunch. Do watch the video, and if you like a mix of sweet and salty with a bit of spice, go for it. Some of the commenters who left negative reviews said it was sweet... Well, look at the ingredients! And as far as salt goes, I use a low sodium tamari instead of regular soy sauce in all my recipes, and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allegro
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Astonishing dish, thank you for sharing Chef John. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Beautiful flavours, A few changes helped. Cooked chicken in all brown sugar mixture until done , removed chicken and thickened sauce with 2 teaspoons of cornflour in 50ml of water. Then added final spices and returned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this last night....man oh man was it tasty. Just finished the lunch leftovers! This sauce is amazing! I followed it except I didn't have cilantro. I'll def make again. I have about 4 sauces from this site and I swear by them all, never use bottled sauce again! Thanks Chef John, you never disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe is delicious! My husband and two boys loved it and gave it two thumbs up :) My 3-year-old said it was better than macaroni and cheese ... that's quite a compliment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Watch the video! It helped me make the dish perfectly. I didn't add the water, per other reviewer's suggestion and it turned out great. I think the water would have made it take forever to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
well, i watched the video before making, but maybe i shouldn't have. i started cooking the chicken; added a third of the sauce as mentioned. the chicken gave off so much water (and i used organic if that makes a difference) that i wound up spooning out a ton of water, along with the sauce. had to do that a couple of times. so, after the pan was sufficiently dry, i added the rest of the sauce. it took about another 10 - 15 mins for the sauce to thicken and brown the chicken. i didn't have or add peanuts or the green onions. i had to use 'rooster sauce' for the heat. we all liked it so i may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States