Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Unlike the video...the recipe didn't say to simmer when you pour in the rest of the sauce, so our sauce was overcooked. :( It seems like it would be a good dish if it didn't taste burnt. UPDATE: Made twice more and it is good. I don't like fish flavor or I'd give it a 5. My fiance loves it and asked for it a second night in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Oh my goodness! No more paying for takeout! I used what i had, red onion and pecans. This sauce is to die for! Thanks for another one chef john :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Excellent! My picky family ate every bit of it! Some of my family members are allergic to fish so I omitted the fish sauce (which I know would really kick the taste up a notch) but it still tasted awesome. My husband wouldn't stop raving how good it was and how it tastes like restaurant quality. The only thing I would do differently is to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup...it was a tad too sweet for our taste buds. I also added carrots, onions, and bell peppers so that the kids will eat their vegetables and they did. Overall, this recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
One of my favorite recipes! The fish sauce is a must. I've even used this recipe with leftover cooked chicken and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Chef John is the best! I love all his recipes, but this one stands out as spectacular. It's so easy, and the flavors are marvelously complex and rich. We practically licked our plates. I did not, and would not, change a single thing. This blows away any of those syrups full of junk in a bottle. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was super awesome. I accidentally used Seasoned Rice Vinegar and while I will definitely get unseasoned for next time it worked out ok (a tad too salty) Also used powdered ginger because I was out of the other and it was still 5 stars- although I can't wait to make it right next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I have made twice now. I don't change anything except a half the amount of chicken. Very good with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I have made this dish over and over again! Family loves it, only change is that I add cilantro to sauce and cook with chicken, other than that it is great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Really good, very sweet with a nice kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Wow! Delicious but easy to make. I followed the directions exactly and we loved it. Good enough for company. Thanks for sharing this one Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States