Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
So good. I had a couple of friends over and one of them is quite a snob about her south-east Asian dishes, but she really liked it. One of those dishes that make you feel good about what you have cooked. The flavor was wonderful. I did put a little less fish sauce then called for. I worried about the saltiness of it. Thanks Chef John for making us feel comfortable in the kitchen. You truly inspire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexikaleema

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was delicious! I only had the bone in skin on thighs, so I took off the skin before cooking. I followed the recipe exactly and added some sliced peppers and mushrooms to make it a full meal. My husband and I devoured it! If you're a fan of sauce I would double the recipe so you have extra to serve on your rice and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Easy to do, tasty with a slight asian taste, this recipe is a keeper. Since trying it 2 years ago I do it minimum once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Need to flour the chicken, as well as add to sauce at the end-makes for a thicker sauce. Have been making a recipe pretty close to this one & it has NEVER failed me. It was the 1st dish I cooked my boyfriend for dinner, & he saw what a great cook I was. Soon to be married after 8 years!!! Restaurant quality!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Wow! How delicious is this! Chef Jon knocks it out of the park with this one. Before it's all cooked and combined there's an off smell about all those ingredients in one place. However when cooking and you finally add the dry ingredients it all really comes together and the smell is amazing! Just make this. It's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was amazing and my kids loved it which is always a plus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Tried this one last night and we loved it! This one is going into my recipe box for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLakeshore
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Holy Smoke. This is stunning, amazing, hot and spicy. So pleasurable. Followed the advice to eliminate water. Substituted powdered cayenne for jalapenos only because I thought had some...and didn't. After helping myself to a plate I served it up in a baking dish on brown rice. My husband thinks if it's in a casserole dish it must be something his mother shared with me. HAHA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLakeshore
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Thought this was going to be awful when I smelled the Fish Sauce, but it actually turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States