Chef John's Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great!! Made this tonight as a dry run for a Senior Luncheon I am doing this Friday in San Francisco. Wow!!! This is really good chicken and fairly easy to make (unless you don't like getting your fingers globby with Buttermilk and Breading mixture, which in that case you shouldn't cook LOL). Am serving with Syrian Green Beans from this site and Greek Salad also from this site, along with rice and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I really liked this fried chicken rendition. I was out of rosemary but used all the other ingredients as directed it came out delicious but I was constantly aware of the buttermilk and it was something I had to get used to as I am more into an ultra spicy hot chicken. The spices made it good, and it did remind me of something a nice restaurant would serve. I liked it much better the 2nd day but, based solely on personal palate preference, I am not sure I will make it again without alterations. Chef John, can you do a spicy hot version for us southern folk who like the burn? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It Was Crispy But Also Greasy, Tasted Good But Couldn't Taste All The Seasoning That Much. But It Was Good And I Did Use A Deep Fryer !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Boss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Photo by Tony Z
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great receipe as is! Might want to just add a bit more salt and pepper. I just doubled only that part of this! Also... Do yourself a favor and mix up the chicken and buttermilk the night before and let it set in fridge all night. It was Soooo good! Tender, and tasted in so good! Thanks chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Chef John has done better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very good! I didn't have sage so that omitted but turned out nicely flavored. Also, if you're in a crunch and don't have all that time to marinate, 45 mins will work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
this is the first fried chicken recipe i tried , very good but I was trying to find something closer to KFC. the whole family loved this so I gave 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The best fried chicken you'll ever eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Doubled the spicing in the flour mixture for dredging out of personal preference. Makes a great-looking, fabulous-tasting fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Thought this was below average in flavor and not traditional enough for me. I think the sage was overpowering - took away from the other seasonings. I doubled the seasonings in the batter and there was still no punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States