Chef John's Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Took this fried chicken to a family 4th of July camping trip. Cooked up a huge bath of thighs and legs. Cooked in peanut oil made a big difference I believe, and adjusted the spices for the amount of chicken I had. When the grandkid's saw the big bowl of fried chicken they asked, " Who brought the Kentucky Fried Chicken" lol. Gone in a few hours, Granddaughter requesting I make for her birthday. I'd say a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It came out tender but the lack of flavor was NOT worth it. Next time I'll skip buttermilk fried chicken and do a brine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is excellent. The only thing I did differently was baking the chicken to lower calories. Thanks Chef John for yet another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Juicy chicken, crispy crust, fantastic taste! ALMOST better than granny's fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is the first time I have made fried chicken. I even bought a whole chicken and cut it myself. My husband said this is the best fried chicken he's ever had. I did not deep fry (oil is expensive) but fried in frying pan. Thank you Chef!! for making me look like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This recipe is so good, I smiled after taking a bite. Added celery seeds and fresh chopped onion to the brine. After crisping the skin, put the chicken in the oven to bake all the way through. Garnished with sea salt. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is my go to fried chicken recipe. Has made me quite famous in town (in a very modest, fried chicken lover kind of way). I usually add a bit more salt because, well, fried chicken should have more salt. One of the rare times I mess with one of Chef John's recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Thank you Chef John! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This might be a time-consuming recipe, but that's only because of the 6-hr to overnight soak time. Everything else in the process is easy-peasy. I seem to not be able to get the outside crispy enough or without burning it, so gonna give this a try again once I get my hands on a good frying pot and thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used chicken thighs for this recipe. It tasted great but is definitely not a recipe for a deep fryer. At 350 degrees the first batch burned after 10 minutes. I put the second batch in for 8 minutes and it looked perfect but neither batch was fully cooked through. Had to microwave them to finish cooking... thank goodness the buttermilk tenderizes the chicken and they didn't dry out. Next time I'll try actually pan frying it although I've never had success with that method. I'll also substitute some hot sauce (Franks, etc) for the cayenne pepper in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States