Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I tried a few different recipes and they were so-so. I decided to try these and they were awesome! my family would not stop complimenting me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
These were wonderful. As someone who has never done a biscuit more complex than a Bisquick drop biscuit, I thought I was being ambitious by trying this homemade biscuit for the first time. I'm pretty experienced in the kitchen but recently trying to expand by doing things like my own pie crusts and now biscuits (things that can be ruined being overworked)...it turned out fantastic! My only word of advice it not to fear your dough being under-worked. Chef John's video is a wonderful guide. I always freeze half my butter when I buy it (Costco) and it works well when doing biscuits (AND pie crusts for that matter). They didn't seem to rise much but I made them pretty small, next time I will double the recipe and roll my dough out thicker. They were pretty flaky and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. I made them for the hubby, and my 10 month old daughter, and when my older kids tried them, they demanded more. Unfortunately we ate them all, haha these will be a hot commodity around my house. (*EDIT: Made them again, and this time I just made 6 large biscuits--I cut the dough with a knife ad just made square biscuits to eliminate having the leftover tough ones--and it was wonderful!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing!! I found it necessary to knead the dough before I patted it and folded it in thirds. Make sure you follow the recipe to the letter, because all the steps which don't seem needed- such as making an indentation on the biscuits before baking them- really pay off!! I used homemade buttermilk (milk with vinegar added to it) and it worked well. I also would encourage you not to completely omit the salt- that's partly why these biscuits taste so good! I will definitely be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious! I also used a food processor to mix and loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I did as some others, I put the flour mixture and butter in a food processor first, then the buttermilk in there to combine. And then patted together into a rectangle. Instead of cutting into 12 round biscuits, I made 10 square"ish" biscuits. Baked for 16 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome biscuits and super easy!! Def a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I give it a 5 star rating because I made changes and it didn't turn out as expected, so I will remake these and rerate if necessary. I used my food processor and zipped everything up in it. It was fast and easy, but they did not fluff up. They were quite flat and a little dry. But the flavor was excellent. Next time I will mix everything all by hand and see if being gentler with the dough yields a better, fluffier, moister biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Standfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Absolutely as stated...great quick Sunday breakfast recipe,I borrowed the suggestion from Cathy to grate the butter, fantastic idea!..Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jen
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yum! These are easy to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Love these homemade biscuits. The aroma fills the house with love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States