Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are great biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Easy, few ingredients and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was my very first time ever trying and exactly following a recipe let alone a biscuit recipe and let me tell you.... "IT WAS A SUCCESS" It was bit frightening when I turn the ,not so moist dough, onto the table to kneed it into shape but I persevered. I baked them this morning and I felt so proud of myself when I served my family warm fresh biscuits with scrambled eggs. Thank you so much Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nathan Kornegay
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
These are completely wonderful I didn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Kornegay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My very first attempt at making biscuits and it turned out perfectly! I make any excuse now to make biscuits.. "Oh it's Wednesday? How about a biscuit". Lol! They're AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
These biscuits were wonderful! I took another users advice and used a food processor to mix the butter in rather than cutting it in. This is my new "go-to" biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccacheek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beccalouise
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Taste was outstanding. Not dry at all, perfect.Easy to make. I did it really quickly and didn't use a round cutter. I just cut the dough into 12 pieces. I posted a picture. I also thre it into a stand mixer. I'll try it again when I have more time to spend. I have no doubt I could get taller biscuits if I took more care in mixing, rolling and folding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
these came out perfect! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemygirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I had to make this twice to get it right. The first time the dough was too dry. The second time I increased the amount of buttermilk to 1 cup. Also, on the second try, instead of cutting up the butter, I used a cheese grater and grated the cold butter into the dry ingredients. If you use this method, be sure to coat the butter shreds with the dry ingredients so they don't clump together. Second try was much better! I still need more practice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Whipped up a double batch of these beautiful buttermilk biscuits. Chef John, you never let me down. I watched the video to make sure I had a handle on the technique. My husband and daughter loved them; my grandfather proclaimed that surely the way to a man's heart is paved with these biscuits. The only change I made was to instead of cutting rounds and handling the dough that much more I used a pizza cutter to slice equal sized squares. Who says biscuits have to be round?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States