Chef John's Boston Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
For those of you who said the filling came out runny, watch his video, even though in the written instructions and on the video he says to turn it to low when you add the egg and cornstarch combination, DON'T. Keep your heat on medium and then it will thicken in 1 minute as he states, otherwise, if you put it on low it will take more like 5 minutes to thicken so quickly. You also need to make sure you chill your filling for 3-4 hours before you put it between your cake layers. The custard came out wonderfully after I made sure it thickened in the pan before I put it in the fridge for 3- 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this according to the directions/recipe on a related link with a video, and it ended up tasting great. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because the filling and the ganache did not firm up as much as they should have. I may not have had the filling at a rapid enough boil, so even after chilling it for several hours it was pretty runny. I firmed it up a bit by adding some plain gelatin (dissolved in a small amount of hot water). I also used 7 tbsp of sugar in the filling, since a note on the original recipe said it could be between 6 and 8 tbsp. The original recipe I used called for "cream" in the ganache. Not knowing what that meant specifically, I used a mixture of half & half and heavy whipping cream. The recipe listed here notes it should be heavy whipping cream, so maybe using only that would make it a little firmer. Ultimately I had to freeze the cake to get it to stay together, especially since I had to transport it by car, and even though it tasted great it looked a little sloppy. I will make this again someday and try these adjustments, hopefully with better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent! The pastry cream took approximately 8 minutes to thicken up and I had to turn the heat up higher, and keep stirring. We were not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a good recipe, but this will make it great! For the problem with the ganache use: 1/2 cup crisco shortening, 1/2 cup butter and mix them together with you mixer until fluffy. Then add 1/4 teas salt and 1 teas vanilla. Mix. Add four cups powered sugar one cup at a time and mix well after each cup. Add heavy cream (not whipping cream) until the mixture is very firm but spreadable. (Weather conditions determine how much cream is needed.) When ready to frost top of cake place ganache into the microwave for a few min. Careful not to burn, but must be porable. ( Add small amount of milk it needed) Pour on the middle of cake and use knife to spread it out causing some to run down sides of the cake. Ganache will firm up after it cools. Also after you take cakes out of oven press down on middle of each cake to make it flat with the edges taken hump out of middle of cakes. This will not hurt the taste and will make a more professional looking finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this cake today and and it is really simple and quick to make. The only issue i had was my custard was runny. I made the custard the day before and left it in the fridge overnight. I was surprised that it had not set more. Thus when i put it on the cake it just ran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this, following the recipe to a T and it did not turn out. The custard never firmed up, and the chocolate "frosting" was terribly lumpy. The cake was good, but it was from a box. Will be using a different recipe in the future, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This cake recipe is wonderful, I love the how to video that comes with it. I made this for my Hubby's Birthday. Everyone was so bad and had two slices! I will be making this again as soon as I have an excuse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The filling was a bit on the bland side and just a little less sweet than I expected. The filling came together beautifully, set up perfectly and I expected it would set even more in the fridge, but... when we spread the filling out it oozed out and over the bottom layer. Nothing at all like in the video as I expected. The gnache was easy and very silky. A bit on the thin side but good. I likely wont make this recipe again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Used golden cake mix. Cake and filling were good, but I used dark chocolate squares for the top. It was HORRIBLY bitter. I may try this recipe again with different chocolate, but I'm not sure it lived up to my expectation enough to bother. Made 2 cakes and one split after I added the chocolate and both halves of the top slid off to the side. Not a nice presentation. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
So Allrecipe is my homepage and I stopped everything I was doing when I saw this photo, then instantly put it in my recipe box before even looking at the ingredients or rating. Im familar w/ Chef John so Im sure it will be delicious. I'll be back after I make this. I'd say by this weekend. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINYDAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States