Chef John's Boston Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Well Since I did not follow the recipe (used "David's Yellow Cake" instead of box cake) I cannot give it a 5. But since this is mainly a techniques videos it is excellent and it turned out great. One note make sure to taste your ganash. Depending on the chocolate you use it may be too bitter for this, add some sugar and a dish of salt to your boiling cream to help boost the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
It was amazing! Just came off a diet and this was a huge temptation. I had 2 slices. It was a favorite of my kids growing up. Next time I'll add 1/8 c. more cream to the chocolate as mine got a little thick. Easy and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Loved it, make sure it is chilled well before served. Wouldn't change a thing, perfect just the way it is written in the original. Came out perfect. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It was alright. The filling never firmed up, and the chocolate icing didn't taste that good. Also, the cake was a it floury in the mouth. Hard to swallow & not at all moist.. I'll be scouting for a different recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brent Butts
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I really enjoy watching Chef John and using this recipe. My chickens have really started laying so I have plenty of farm fresh eggs to bake with. As a result, I make this at least once a month for friends and family. Instead of a cake mix, however, I prefer to make a simple yellow cake from scratch. Why not? I have plenty of eggs! I'm not picky on chocolate either and use the generic semi-sweet chips for the chocolate. Here's my most recent Boston Cream Pie using Chef John's tips and recipe. Oh, and I agree with everyone that suggest using a higher heat (especially using electric) for the pastry cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
all I have to say is OH MY GOD this is really good and easy to make I have made it for my husband several times he loves this pie/cake lol it is truly great as all of Chef John's recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Everyone in my family fell in love with it :D it's awesome and easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The perfect Boston Cream Pie! I love that it has a how-to video
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The filling was a bit on the bland side and just a little less sweet than I expected. The filling came together beautifully, set up perfectly and I expected it would set even more in the fridge, but... when we spread the filling out it oozed out and over the bottom layer. Nothing at all like in the video as I expected. The gnache was easy and very silky. A bit on the thin side but good. I likely wont make this recipe again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was a good recipe, however, my filling was too thin. I followed the recipe exactly. So, after cooling I whipped the pudding mixture to add air. Then whipped up an additional cup of heavy whipping cream and folded it into the pudding mixture. I cut my 2 round cakes in half and put the filling between the layers (3 total). Then I topped it with the chocolate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States