Chef John's Boston Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Not Boston beans like I'm used to. The flavor was not bad, but the consistency was off. I increased the recipe by 50%, to 9 servings, but it was a TON of beans. I served it at a party with about 20 or so people but I was left with more than half of it. I usually love Chef John's recipes, but alas, we can't be on the same page all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I've made this recipe twice now. I'm not really sure what value the pinch of baking soda is, but I add it anyway. (If you've run out of it though, I don't think you'll miss it.) I've baked them as per the directions, but have found still too much liquid at the end. So, I continue slow-cooking them for an additional 6-8 hours. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
For some reason this didn't seem five star. Maybe I'm too used to canned baked beans and bbq flavor and not used enough to the earthy, natural, bean taste. I did like that it didn't use ketchup or bbq sauce. I used the crockpot for Step 3 since I didn't have a dutch oven. My first time making baked beans. Not bad. They all got eaten! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Love this recipe. Easy to make and delicious. Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuneB
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I added chourico and spicy mustard they are wonderful as usual this is the 3 rd time I ve made these Thank You for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
love this recipe, I looked every where for a recipe that had no ketchup, most Ketchup is made with GMO's so was very happy to find this! and I must say tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I followed this recipe to a tee. It was scrumptious and did not have any ketchup in it. Who in the world puts ketchup in Boston Baked beans, no one. Chef John, I plan on trying many of your other recipes in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is the same recipe I use for my Baked Beans!! Lots of great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiggerknit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Cannot accurately rate via the stars as I didn't have a dutch oven to transfer to. I transferred to crock pot instead and beans didn't finish by the time the rest of the meal was ready. Obviously, I'll be trying this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great. I cooked the beans in the pressure cooker first for about 20 minutes. I also precooked the bacon. Easy and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States