Chef John's Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I got 28 normal size muffins and baked them about 20 minutes. Added 1tsp. vanilla, didn't have fresh lemon in the frig. Cake like and very good. I also tossed the berries in some of the flour mixture to keep them from seeping into the batter. Sprinkling a little sugar on top before baking makes them shimmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Chef John- This is the best, best, BEST muffin recipe in the whole UNIVERSE!!! ") ~recommended to everyone who loves 100 star muffins!!! ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Not that Chef John's recipes are not stand alone awesome, but I had to make a few changes because of what I had on hand. I substituted Yoplait peach yogurt for sour cream, Meyer lemon zest for lemon zest, frozen blueberries for fresh and coconut oil for vegetable oil. They came out really, really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by knapouru
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
These are pretty good ! I used frozen blueberries because I didn't have fresh. I may try a a couple minutes less next time as they could've been a more moist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Best blueberry muffins ever! I have also made this with frozen blueberries and they were just as good. Thanks again Chef John for another 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I halved this recipe and substituted the sour cream for plain Greek yogurt since it's all I had on hand. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white. I then sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon and sugar mixture prior to placing in the over. Baked for 23 mins, made 8 muffins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I really like these muffins and the extra blueberry "kick" to them. But, I thought they were rather dry. I would probably add on a bit more sour cream or milk. They are definitely worth the experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Best Blueberry muffins ever. I tripled the recipe and they were still amazing. I loved them! Espessially how the sour cream is in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Fabulous! I used blueberry & blackberry yogurt + lemon juice in place of the sour cream, and cut back on the sugar. I used ½ whole wheat flour and made a lemon glaze for them. Simple, light, fluffy and delicious. Cupcake like in texture. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very good. Used lite sour cream. I split the recipe in 1/2 and recipe made 11 regular sized muffins. Also, I sprinkled with cinnamon mixed with sanding sugar toward the last 10 mins of baking for a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States