Chef John's BLT Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved this and my husband went crazy for it. He asked me to make it again the very next week! Try it, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this with sour cream the first time and we really loved it. I added sun-dried tomatoes for a little more flavor. I wanted to try it with the creme fraiche, so I made it again. We preferred the tang the sour cream added for sure, so I'll be making it again and again but with the sour cream. I omitted the lemon as we didn't care for it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Made this recipe tonite for dinner. It was excellent. The only change I made was instead of adding 2 cups of tomatoes, I only added one cup which was plenty. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I trimmed the fat on the bacon and cooked it without the oil. Used macaroni noodles since that's what I had and omitted the cayenne pepper. Used Chef John's recipe for crème fraiche but used 1 1/2 cup of it. After tossing it, I tasted it and it was missing something. I squeezed 1/2 lemon and that made a huge improvement. My husband loved it, my son not so much even though he's a fanatic of bacon. He didn't like the taste of arugula. I liked it. The arugula did over power the salad. The next time, I'm going to try fresh baby spinach and 1/2 the batch, except for the bacon, since it made a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was just ok. Arugula is not my favorite and I should have known the kids wouldn't like it but wanted to follow the recipe exactly the first time. The arugula overwhelmed the dish in my opinion and it didn't resemble a BLT at all because of that. I think perhaps with spinach or kale this would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Would have been lovely if AllRecipes hadn't converted "two cups" of pasta to "16 oz" of pasta. Really, I'll learn to ignore what they put on the shopping list - and beware if you haven't already noticed that little "feature". Other than needing double everything because it was too much pasta, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this recipe and his other recipes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good, and different! My wife said only a man could come up with this (?) but she did enjoy. Couldn't find the ditalini pasta so used cornetti, which sounded fancy but looked a lot like regular macaroni. I used campari tomatoes quartered, and had to cook them a lot longer than 1 minute to soften them up. Although I upped the recipe to 6 servings, I found the sauce needed just a tad more liquid. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Amazeballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved it as did my husband and middle son. My oldest (16) and youngest (12) didn't love it. Can't imagine why. It was fabulous and I can't imagine switching out the creme fraiche for anything else. Wonderful but quite fatty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States