Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
No way!!! There are no tomato products in authentic Hungarian Goulash at all. All that red is paprika, not tomatoes. This is a dish Hungarian herdsmen made in a kettle over an open fire. They would have only the bare necessities with them, and that does not include tomatoes. Just meat, salt, pepper, paprika, maybe onions/maybe not, maybe garlic/maybe not. That is all. And some bread to dip in the juice. There is no way they would have had all the ingredients listed here. Sorry Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rb Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Family loved this goulash! A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Great on egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It's really yummy!! Overall I used about 15% less spices than called for, probably 50% less Cayenne because the chief complaint from reviews was too much Cayenne. I cut the meat into smaller pieces and used vegetable broth. Served with low fat sour cream over egg noodles is a way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
It has some zing if you are looking for something different! I found it spicy and warm-but not too hot. By far, my favorite hugarian goulash on Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Taste so gourmet! Has become my new special even staple. Video was most useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was pretty god. I haven't had goulash before so I don't know if it tasted right or not. I thought it was excessively sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was amazing! It was so fun to cook with spices I don't normally use. The taste was unique. I actually used Gardein brand beefless tips (I'm a vegetarian). I simply can't imagine how delicious this would have been with real beef. Again, awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I've made it with beef and regular paprika & venison and Hungarian paprika. If you like it spicy, go for the Hungarian. Sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States