Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is very good and rich. Served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This came out pretty good even though I did not have 2 of the ingredients, caraway seeds and balsamic vinegar. I substituted 1 tsp of crushed cumin seed and 1 tsp dill seed for the 2 tsp of caraway seeds and apple cider vinegar for the balsamic vinegar. Chef John always adds a little cayenne pepper to most of his recipes and I usually like that but 1/2 tsp was a little too much in this recipe. I served this over ribbon noodles with a dollop of left over creme fraiche. I will get all the correct ingredients and make this again with 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
It's the only way I cook beef now - the flavour is so rich and full of umph! Plus the house smells incredible for the whole day. I skip on cayenne since the freshly ground black pepper adds enough heat on its own. After my second time, I went out and bought a spice grinder just so that I can grind the caraway seeds for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very delicious recipe. Followed recipe pretty much as written and made sure to use real Hungarian paprika. I did serve it the day after I cooked it to give the flavors a chance to mature. Hubby raved about how good it was. Not too spicy for us. A little more trouble than some recipes but well worth it. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love this recipe. It is so savory and flavorful. Everything you would want In a Hungarian Goulash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neisha Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was really good. My husband loved it. He could smell it before he got into the house. I tried to do it exactly as written. I ran out of paprika (and couldn't even find Hungarian paprika at the store) and was at least a couple of teaspoons short. I used just a tad less cayenne because so many said it was too much. Also I followed the written recipe which called for ground thyme. Later I watched the video and he used dried thyme. None of it mattered. The flavors were amazing. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
WOW this was fabulous and so easy. I actually let it simmer on low in my crock pot for about 5 hours...and I added sliced crimini mushrooms, which added a nice flavor. I didn't have caraway, so I googled a suggested replacement and found cumin was good, so I used that and it really was just great. I changed the recipe to 6 servings for two of us, and we have enough to freeze for a later time. Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was a real winner! Sauce was a delicious blend of flavors (even better the next day). I will definitely make again, but next time will slice onions thin and add garlic at the end their cooking time. I used mostly regular Hungarian paprika, and about 1/2 Tbls. of Hot Hungarian paprika (plus a tweak of cayenne). Served it with some homemade spaetzle just for fun! However, meat was tough even after 2+ hours of cooking time. Next time, I will partially cover during cooking and add more liquid if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious!!!! A definite to be put in the menu rotation! Enjoyed by my husband too who had a plate & then went back for seconds which he hardly ever does! I left out the caraway & cayenne due to our taste preference! A little preparation but so worth it!! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Turned out Great! We don't like caraway seeds but this recipe was delicious without it. Next time I think I'll try putting a can of diced tomatoes in instead of the tomato paste just to have a few more veggies in there (and partially for texture). Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John's Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States