Chef John's Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
So easy and AWESOME. Fast and flavorful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are delicious!! I didn't have an anchovy fillet so added an extra pinch of salt but it really didn't need it. I added a big pinch of red pepper to while cooking and an additional pinch to the finished product and it was great! served it with fresh French bread which was SOOOO yummy dipped in the juice. will 100% be making this again...and again...and again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is delicious, easy, fast and healthy to boot. I followed the recipe exactly, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pulcinello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
"I grew up eating my family's escarole and beans but never wrote down a recipe. Sorry mom but this recipe is better than yours! I rarely say that! :-o) Do NOT omit the anchovies; they're included for flavor and you won't taste "anchovy" but you will taste wonderful rich, creamy deliciousness. The only changes I made to this were to add sausage at the beginning before the garlic and to increase the anchovy fillets to three (yes, 3, try it, dare you to!). Thanks Chef John! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Son came back from college a vegetarian. Found this recipe. We ALL loved it! Cooked verbatum, except the anchovie. I've made it several times now, and our local grocery store seems to have better and better selections of escarole. Maybe I'm not the only one who found it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
We all liked this. I had turnip greens and no anchovies, but I will definitely make this again when I have anchovies. Oct 2013 Second time making, this time using anchovy paste and escarole. I dunno about the rest of you, but it was a quest to find this veggie. I made as stated. After tasting I think more lemon peel and red pepper is in order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OmaCindy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Loved this although I did modify it a bit to be totally vegitarian by leaving out the anchovy and using vegitable boullion instead of chicken. I needed a new way of using escarole instead of the traditional Dutch way of mashing it into hot potatoes. Another reviewer mentioned using turnip greens, I think this would also be wonderful with kale or even spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OmaCindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This went over really well with my family. I cooked my own beans instead of using canned. My anchovy did not fully break apart so I would recommend mashing it some before adding it to the soup. I would also recommend that you reduce the stock until you like the flavor as this will be the main part of the soup. Not all stock has the same intensity. My only real change is that I used spinach instead of escarole. This soup came out great and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe was outstanding. Made with Parma crisps and served for main meal....could not have been better. AWESOME recipe....wonderful flavors! LOVE it and will make it again all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
John You have no idea how much you have improved meal time at our house. Your recipes are simple but profound and very delicious. I love anchovies but had some honey baked ham I had to use up, so that was my protein for this dish. I will use anchovies next time. Keep 'em coming. And thank you. Marjorie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States