Chef John's Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Healthy, easy, inexpensive and versatile. I have tons of spinach from my garden this year so that was the greens I used. I say versatile because I had some leftover sautéed turkey italian sausage that I used in place of one can of the beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is the most delicious greens recipe I have ever tasted. I am using turnip greens. In the last month we have had it three times. The lemon jest adds just the right amount of snap and the usual addition of bacon grease to greens is not missed. As Chef John says, you don't realize you haven't had meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as presented and thought it was excellent. I had two bowls late in the evening and was full but not uncomfortable. Nice light late night meal. I suppose you could add sausage or an egg if you are looking for a more hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe is delicious and simple - love it! I really think letting the stock reduce adds a wonderful richness to the soup. I didn't dislike the lemon zest, but it was a bit strong for me. Next time I might leave it out and add a splash of red or white wine vinegar at the end instead. The anchovy, not surprisingly, added great flavor! But will someone please tell me what to do with the other anchovies!?!? They always seem to go to waste. Overall, this soup is definitely worth making and putting in your regular rotation of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
These were the best beans & greens I've ever had! I cooked a few strips of bacon, chopped it, used the fat with a little olive oil to cook the veggies in, and left out the anchovies. It turned out great. Will absolutely make over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Seriously awesome! I substituted brussel sprout greens and a can of red kidney beans because that's what I had. Will definitely make this again... And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I really loved this recipe and I'm sure it would've been wonderful as is. However, I know that my hubby wouldn't have liked it without some kind of meat in it. So, I just sauteed some turkey lite kielbasa right before putting the garlic in. He ate two bowls! Also, I served it with warm Naan bread (garlic flavor) for dipping. The kids even ate this. If it seems a little too thick, just add a tad more broth. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Like someone else here said, she grew up eating this as a child and my wife learned to make it from my mother. Well, sorry to say, both died and i never knew exactly how to make this. So thanks to Chef John for this recipe, i made it and it tasted just like when i was a kid and when my wife used to make it. So, again Chef John, thank you. __Mr Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Chef John I've enjoyed playing with this recipe! This time, I rendered nitrate free bacon. After removing the bacon from the pan, I removed the fatty parts and chopped the lean pieces to add later. I sauteed 1 yellow onion, 1 tsp curry powder and the garlic in the fat. Once the onions were caramelized, I added Trader Joe's low sodium vegetable stock, seasonings and liquid smoke. After reducing per your recipe, I added the beans, a can of Glory seasoned collard greens I had on hand and some leftover (cooked) turkey meatballs. The chopped bacon went into the pot in the final few minutes. Yum! Talk about amazing flavor and pretty healthy to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHULA_MIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My husband loved this. Next time I'm making it with greens and ham to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States