Chef John's Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Yummy, yummy, yummy. What a splendiferous recipe! I saw the video the other day and felt that I had to try it. I did not measure the ingredients but added them by eye. It's so simple that you can only really go wrong if you overcook the dish or burn the toast! I just had it for my dinner and am wondering if it's too greedy to have more or if I even care about that! I did take mine out of the oven just before the yolks had set as the eggs carry on cooking in the heat of the ingredients. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
We double the recipe and make this in a 7 by 11 glass dish and place it between us. Using Cholmondley's English Muffin bread, toasted, we mop up every last drop. So tasty. Thanks, Chef John. Another hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I LOVED IT... EASY AND OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
First, I have to say (again) how much I love Chef John's videos!! And his recipes! I made these baked eggs as written, and they are delicious. I just now made them again, but with a Mexican flare using Goya Recaito (cilantro cooking base) and it's another hit! I think you could use any sauce/spice/cheese you like and it will come out great. Thanks again, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Made it for dinner for my gf and she loved it. It's almost like huevos rancheros but marinara sauce is better IMO. It's salty and sweet with a nice basil finish. Will use more basil and some pressed garlic next time. I skipped on using cream and it was still yummy. Make sure you don't over cook the yolk. The yumminess of this dish depends on the consistency of a semi-oozy yolk. Watch the video! Thx Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I LOVED THESE! I used fresh basil instead of the parsley. Hubby didn't care for them, but I had a feeling he wouldn't, lol. I thought the flavors were wonderful and they could not have been easier to make. I will def be making these again (for myself, lol)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
WOW! This is definitely my new favorite breakfast recipe. SO easy to prepare (this is the first time it took me SHORTER than the advertised prep time), just pop it in the oven, and voila! Totally delicious, filling meal. Really, this is better than most breakfasts I've had in a while. I was low on pasta sauce, so I used salsa for the rest - that gave it a nice kick! Low-ish carbs, made from ingredients I always have around the house... Thanks for introducing me to this spectacular recipe that I know will become a staple in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
We had breakfast for dinner the other night, so I decided to give this a try. I made it exactly as written, but used fresh basil instead of parsley. I sprayed my baking dish with non-stick cooking spray first and assembled as the recipe indicates. I ran into a problem trying to figure out if these were done. I thought they still looked too giggly after 12 minutes, so I left them in the oven another 3 minutes. Big mistake. I should have taken them out at 12 minutes, because after 3 more minutes, the yolks were cooked through. They were still delicious and I’d certainly make this again. We both enjoyed these with toasted English muffins and crispy bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Easy and divine! I made two changes though. 1) to make these in individual ramekins - makes it easy to serve and it looks fancy....and 2) I placed a slice of ham over the tomato sauce and then broke the egg into it - adding cream etc on top of it. Thanks John for this tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I just made this for lunch for my son and myself and we both love it. I'll be trying it on his father tomorrow morning for breakfast. I'm pretty sure it'll be a hit with him too. I made it as the recipe called for as much as I could but didn't have the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese so used another kind. My cream was cereal cream but it all worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States