Chef John's Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I loved this so much, I may fix it again for lunch and dinner! I used a local brand tomato/basil sauce, and skipped the olive oil and cream, altho I'm sure that's good too. This was SO MUCH BETTER than the expensive restaurant breakfast I had yesterday with friends. The next time they want to meet, they can come here and I will fix this for all of them and it will still cost me less than what I spend on just MY meal (which was NOT GOOD) yesterday! Thanks for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Oh my! How yummy was this? I had only small creme brulee ramekins so they would hold only one egg each. I'll for sure shop for something slightly larger so I can cook two eggs for each diner. I love that I can serve this individually. I'm wondering if perhaps, I may change it up a bit....how about, salsa to sub for the marinara and crumbled queso instead of the parmesan? At any rate, it was very tasty. I acquired 4 hens on Easter weekend and need egg recipes....we are collecting 2-4 eggs per day so recipes for eggs is my focus of late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
A nice change of pace from our normal eggs. It needs more marinara sauce. And it really needs to be watched while cooking eggs go from not done to over done in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really almost elegant for a dish that takes about 3 minutes to assemble! A nice simple dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Delicious! Made in individual ramekins the night before. Left them in the fridge overnight and baked them in the morning for a quick, tasty breakfast before running out the door to work. No prep in the morning needed :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayeltee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Either his oven runs hot or mine runs colder than set as after 18 minutes, my yokes were still runnier than his in the video. Made this as a late night supper, used some marinara from my favorite restaurant, Bravo, and had no fresh basil or parsley on hand. Otherwise I followed the recipe closely - good shaved Assiago from local Italian specialty store and same with toast - Wonderful!!!! and exactly the right amount for a late light supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I used pizza sauce, a little pesto (no oil) and a little half and half (not heavy cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very, very good. I made the recipe pretty much as is but but didn't have any cream so I used half and half. Do be careful, though, not to overcook, thinking the eggs are too loose. The baking dish keeps enough heat to cook the eggs further even as its on the table and mine were a bit over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious - Made it as written in individual cast iron pans. Dipped warm Italian bread into the mix and - WoW! We'll make this again! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made mine with 505 Green Chile . Totally outstanding and will make it for company anytime. Topped it with cheddar cheese and bacon bits. I just watched the dish starting at 10 minutes and I think we finished up at 15. Sure glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States