Chef John's Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Made this for lunch, really really delish,plan to make it for brunch in a couple of weeks when all the family will be here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was a wonderful Saturday lunch - rich, quick, simple, full of flavor, and, best of all, not TOO filling. We used a really good jarred marinara sauce, and I think that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Need to put a note on why to use the ramekin for the eggs before adding to sauce. This is so you don't get any shell in the sauce from cracking the eggs. If you're supremely confident you won't accidentally get shell in, then crack directly into the sauce. Tried this morning and these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I did not care for the marinara sauce. I was expecting something spicy with the reference in the description comparing it to huevos rancheros. This DEFINITELY didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is very good. It has kind of an elegant taste about it. I lower the calories on it by doing 1 egg and 1 egg white and use half and half or milk instead of the cream (although it is a little better with the cream). I'm going low carb so I also don't eat the toast sometimes too. The first time I made this dish, I ate it all and then went back and made another. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Well now, I tried this yesterday morning.. I made a double batch for me & hubby. I didn't have any ramekins or other shallow dishes, so I used a French white oval dish. I followed the directions and was sooo looking forward to a wonderful breakfast! After 10 mins., I checked the eggs to see if they were done. The whites didn't look set to me, so I checked it again in 3 minutes. Then again. I decided that it was now or never! With great anticipation I set the toasts on a plate and brought our eggs to the table. Well, as I tried to mix the yolks into the whites, I saw that they were more solid than loose. But of course you already surmised that they would be, right? (My next least favorite thing is semi-hard yolks). We did eat this creation but really never tasted egg, just the sauce, which was pretty good - but not what I expected! I believe that the dish I used, because of the height, did not allow the eggs to cook properly. Whatever the cause, I don't think I'll try this one again. Chalk it up to user error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady.dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Quick, Easy, Delicious!! I added a little fresh basil with my parsley as suggested in his video. I am glad I did as that was a delicious addition. I haven't tried a recipe yet from Chef John that I haven't enjoyed. Thanks Chef John, and keep the recipes coming. I also have found several recipes on Chef john's food wishes blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was really good. I like my eggs a lil' less done; but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Ohhh Yum! These are really, really good! Did mine in the toaster oven @ 400 for 10 minutes, came out perfect. Will be making these again and again. My husband didn't want to try them (old school bacon and eggs kind of guy). He doesn't know what he is missing. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Luxurious! My daughter and I love these for a special breakfast. The flavors meld so well together and it takes no time to put it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States